Get a Jumpstart with our Sample Apps
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: SAAS -

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic CharlesParker's Avatar
    Real Name
    Charles Parker
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    1,674

    Default SAAS -

    Can a few of the more experienced folks post some basic information and how to's on creating a multi tenant web based app? I just read in another thread how one guy has a car saleman app he built that allows each salesman to see his own clients and the manager can view everything. As someone who cannot code diddly - I would like to start but I dont really know where to start - I wouldnt recognise a session variable if it smacked me in the face, lol
    Thank you so much for any time you would take to contribute your knowledge.
    SO far I have made tables with a tenant_Id or as I named it Portal_Id
    This represents (to me) who the buyer of my saas is, and sure I was able to create a login componant and get it online - I just can't figure out how to link a logged in user to the form (not built yet btw) where he or she would log in and then edit, customers, invoices, phone logs etc. and each table does currently have a matching and (I think) properly linked Portal_Id field.
    Furthermore, I want each portal user to be able to allow logins from employees, I have already made an employees table with the Portal_Id field listed - but again from jump - I have no idea how to associate the login and or security system to the portal owner (or tenant)

    Your thoughts?
    Also please don't rag me for wanting to make a web based app without any programming experience, lol I know I am really reaching beyond my expertise here! Also, forgive me if I am not being clear on what I am asking as part of being new means I may not be asking the right questions...thanks again!

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Chris Tappan
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    1,252

    Default Re: SAAS -

    search for ulink and see this for starters: http://news.alphasoftware.com/v11preview/videos_v11.htm

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    5,826

    Default Re: SAAS -

    Charles,

    all my main tables have a field in them for a userid that is always filled automatically when a user creates a record. It is taken from the user Id that they are signed up for

    as: login Jamesa
    pass: xxxsx123

    those are first checked for validity, the jamesa is kept in memory and every time james a creates a record jamesa is inserted. That makes that data belong to him. With filering, no one else can see his data, only their own.

    I am assuming you are working on the web, so mine is somewhat simplistic(I have not yet done it on the web in alpha).

    I just hope it helps. I am sure it gets easier.

    I also have to contend with lot numbers(car lots where a company may have several of them) I number the 1-99 . that is another filtering thing. Each main record has the lot number, so there is really several levels of filtering.
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldaweb.com

    Skype is dave.mason46

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    5,826
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldaweb.com

    Skype is dave.mason46

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Chris Tappan
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    1,252

    Default Re: SAAS -

    FYI Charles, not sure what you're working on, but my answer was related to Web apps and Dave's was desktop.

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    5,826

    Default Re: SAAS -

    Chris,

    The principle is the same either way. permissions, direction, filtering. I have web apps built similar to this. Alpha has it's own system, which I generally bypass. I just like more control where I can get in if I need to repair a user quandry.
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldaweb.com

    Skype is dave.mason46

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic CharlesParker's Avatar
    Real Name
    Charles Parker
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    1,674

    Default Re: SAAS -

    Well in my quest and your answers I found something that I think is a better question and that is populating the tenant_id during sign up...in other words how do I populate the ulink during sign up...? Someone else said this:
    "the basic idea is this though: When your user fills out a dialog, it populates your user table first, then, using field rules it creates a record in the security table with the guid."
    i am still trying to figure out what it means when you say the user_id is filled out automatically when a user creates a record...I hope your a patient person!

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    5,826

    Default Re: SAAS -

    with a web app, there are no field rules like a windows app, to my knowledge. Others that may use the web from alpha may correct me on this.

    In a desktop app, you can build your entry on a set and it ato p[opulates another table with the userid(or whatever you are using when you enter a record on a form built on the set.

    Charles, are you working on web based app or desktop app? It does really matter, because we may be giving some very confusing answers to you. They would be different depending on what you are doing.
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldaweb.com

    Skype is dave.mason46

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic CharlesParker's Avatar
    Real Name
    Charles Parker
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    1,674

    Default Re: SAAS -

    ok great, even that is useful knowledge - thanks! Yes I am working on a web app. I am also very interested in different ways to display data on a webpage from a database. I am using mysql for now since i am hosting the site on a vps from godaddy that supports a free mysql however I have access to create a sql database as well and can easily create one and create the necessary connections etc.
    I want to be able to create a login dialog that populates a tenant or "portal_Id" and that field exists in my other tables to keep all tenant data together as unique. for instance, I have lets say a customer table, each tenant would have customers that belong to them, so each customer would be assigned to the tenant or as I like to refer to them as portal users. Portal users are those would be the ones who sign up for an account and create a login with a username and password. My goal is to create software that I would use in my business, and then to be able to resell what I am using myself - since I am very familiar with the needs of my business I believe I can create something useful for others.

  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic CharlesParker's Avatar
    Real Name
    Charles Parker
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    1,674

    Default Re: SAAS -

    I am also concerned about bots creating accounts and bogging down tables with data. I run several forums and one of my vbulletin forums gets hundreds of signups from bots and I delete them. I was wondering if anyone using the alpha 5 security system for account creation in online apps has any problems with excessive bot signups...or spam-like signups

  11. #11
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    5,826

    Default Re: SAAS -

    If I were you, I would start a thread in the web portion of this forum for the version of alpha you are using. I think you will get much more help.

    I would also look at steve woods framework that can be found on iadn. If I were going to do what you are doing in alpha, that would be my first stop.

    I know the auto industry and have built apps for that arena for years(built for me and then sell copies). It works good.
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldaweb.com

    Skype is dave.mason46

  12. #12
    "Certified" Alphaholic CharlesParker's Avatar
    Real Name
    Charles Parker
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    1,674

    Default Re: SAAS -

    thanks Dave! Nice to see someone that has already done something similar.

Similar Threads

  1. 2 New SaaS apps built in Alpha Five v11
    By Richard Rabins in forum Announcements
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-10-2012, 11:48 PM
  2. SAAS Iimplementation
    By lvasic in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-17-2011, 12:12 PM
  3. survey regarding Alpha Five and SaaS
    By Richard Rabins in forum Announcements
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-16-2011, 12:57 PM
  4. SAAS
    By Bill@TrackerSystems.com in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-13-2010, 01:41 PM
  5. SAAS MultiUser vs MultiClient
    By eric.software.engineer in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-13-2010, 09:17 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •