Get a Jumpstart with our Sample Apps
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Not able to print or preview reports (worked fine for last year)

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Adam R Shepard
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default Not able to print or preview reports (worked fine for last year)

    Hi,

    I've been happily using QReport Builder for the last year to product quarterly sales reports for consignment vendors. I have some saved reports which I simply update with new dates each quarter (along with a refresh of the data in the tables).

    This quarter I went to preview/print PDFs of the sales reports, but I get two error messages which stop the reports from being generated.

    If I try to print a report, I get an error message saying "Could not Find Report" (See attachment). The report exists, as I can go in and edit the layout of it. And I have verified that the file listed as "could not be found" is saved at the listed path in the error message.

    If I try to preview a report, I get an error saying "Printer not configured".

    I have not changed anything since last quarter, so I'm wondering what the problem could be.

    Thanks :)

    Adam
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,383

    Default Re: Not able to print or preview reports (worked fine for last year)

    Quote Originally Posted by AdamShep View Post
    Hi,

    I've been happily using QReport Builder for the last year to product quarterly sales reports for consignment vendors. I have some saved reports which I simply update with new dates each quarter (along with a refresh of the data in the tables).

    This quarter I went to preview/print PDFs of the sales reports, but I get two error messages which stop the reports from being generated.

    If I try to print a report, I get an error message saying "Could not Find Report" (See attachment). The report exists, as I can go in and edit the layout of it. And I have verified that the file listed as "could not be found" is saved at the listed path in the error message.

    If I try to preview a report, I get an error saying "Printer not configured".

    I have not changed anything since last quarter, so I'm wondering what the problem could be.

    Thanks :)

    Adam
    Adam

    At first glance it looks like your windows default printer has changed. QRB is sensitive to the default printer unless you have specifically assigned a printer.

    You'll need to change the default printer to a 'normal' printer - not Adobe or QuickBooks or....., and restart QRB.

    As far as the message that the report is not found, have you moved the My Documents folder to a network drive instead of the hard drive?
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    David Katz
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    291

    Default Re: Not able to print or preview reports (worked fine for last year)

    How can we layout a report with every second line shaded or color?

Similar Threads

  1. Closing the Print Preview after pressing the Print button
    By and13345 in forum Alpha Five Version 11 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-11-2013, 02:20 PM
  2. Security issue, works fine in working preview, but not in localhost
    By jmsilva in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-24-2012, 05:03 PM
  3. Frustrated! Dialog opens fine with Live Preview, but uploaded to Server - Error 500
    By pettechservices in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-02-2012, 08:03 AM
  4. Works fine in preview but not browser
    By Titanoguy in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-02-2011, 06:14 PM
  5. Picking a Year for Reports
    By dtheo in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-05-2000, 01:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •