Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Error executing SQL Count query: when using a UX to edit a list control item.

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    divaanddress
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    94

    Default Error executing SQL Count query: when using a UX to edit a list control item.

    ISSUE: Receiving "Error executing SQL Count query": when using a UX to edit a list control item.

    When clicking the list item and invoking the Active Javascript to "EditExistingItem"
    • DB is MySQL
    • Using primarykey as the return value.
    • Using a GUID as a key.
    • In the list SQL statement, I disable the "Execute count query when query in preview? But it's reenabled the when I edit the statement!
    • The error displays in red at the top of the editor UX.


    Error executing SQL Count query:
    SELECT FIRST 1 commitments.commitment_id AS PRIMARYKEY_commitments_1, commitments.commitment_id AS commitments_commitment_id, commitments.description AS commitments_description, commitments.budget_id AS commitments_budget_id, commitments.vendor_ID AS commitments_vendor_ID, commitments.date_routed AS commitments_date_routed, commitments.ball_in_court AS commitments_ball_in_court, commitments.date_fully_exec AS commitments_date_fully_exec, commitments.commitment_type AS commitments_commitment_type, commitments.notes AS commitments_notes FROM commitments WHERE commitments.commitment_id = :PrimaryKey_1

    primarykey_1
    01572cfd-97d8-4d6b-860e-6b61cd1f39ae
    0
    Input
    Last edited by westridge; 09-24-2015 at 04:53 PM.

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    divaanddress
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    94

    Default Re: Error executing SQL Count query: when using a UX to edit a list control item.

    I can add new columns, one at a time, to the underlying table. Next I can update the List control UX to show the new field. Then I can add the one more field to the detail/input UX. and all is well. When I try to add more than one column I get the SQL count query.
    Last edited by westridge; 09-25-2015 at 08:12 PM.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    divaanddress
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    94

    Default Re: Error executing SQL Count query: when using a UX to edit a list control item.

    SOLUTION:

    Through the process of elimination and healthy dose of persistence, the root cause was found. A date column was named "date_fully_exec." in a MySQL table.
    Only after renaming the column to "dateexecutedfully" and rebinding the components to the renamed column was the error eliminated.

    Lesson Learned: DO NOT use the phrase/word "exec" as a part of your field names. With all that dynamic code running in Alpha, I suspect the parser got confused.

    WOW, there are several hours of my life that I want back.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    6,669

    Default Re: Error executing SQL Count query: when using a UX to edit a list control item.

    Nice sleuthing... thanks for posting the results of your persistence. Never would have guessed that one. I understand what you mean, but... those exhausting hours are really valuable.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    divaanddress
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    94

    Default Re: Error executing SQL Count query: when using a UX to edit a list control item.

    Quote Originally Posted by Davidk View Post
    Nice sleuthing... thanks for posting the results of your persistence. Never would have guessed that one. I understand what you mean, but... those exhausting hours are really valuable.
    Thank you for taking a look David.

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    divaanddress
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    94

    Default Re: Error executing SQL Count query: when using a UX to edit a list control item.

    Version used when issue encountered: Alpha Anywhere v.3.5 Build 2999 / add-in build 4915

Similar Threads

  1. "Error executing SQL Count query" returned when clicking a row in a list
    By westridge in forum Windows Desktop Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-16-2015, 09:21 AM
  2. bind argument value to control value? (To use in list control sql query)
    By Jane1234 in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-23-2015, 08:16 PM
  3. How can you delete item's in a Edit-Combo List?
    By reedallenbrown in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-07-2012, 12:26 PM
  4. SQL Count Error Using Dialog Edit
    By iRadiate in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-15-2011, 10:59 AM
  5. Way to put item count on menu item, before going to grid
    By twwtc in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-25-2010, 10:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •