Alpha DevCon Engineering Roundtables
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Editors: Populating a List from a SQL Query

  1. #1
    Alpha Software Employee Beta Spark's Avatar
    Real Name
    Sarah Mitchell
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    376

    Default Editors: Populating a List from a SQL Query

    Static data is easily populated in a List control Editor using the 'user defined settings' to store the options for a field. If the data in the List control needs to be populated from a SQL table, however, the values to display in the List need to be fetched from the server before you can show them. This can be done when the server-side onDialogInitialize event is executed. The data fetched from the SQL table can be cached client-side. The List control can then be populated with the cached data when the Editor's set value event is executed.

    Watch the video below to learn more.

    List Control Editor - Dynamically Populate with SQL Data



    Video Link: http://www.alphasoftware.com/video-library/?v=4942

    Prerequisite Knowledge Base

    See these other great videos on using List controls as an editor:
    • Editors: Cascading List Control: Discover how to use a List control as a cascading editor - choices for a city field are filtered based on the value in a state field.
    Sarah Mitchell

    Looking for answers? Try our documentation.
    If you can't find something, let us know!

  2. #2
    Alpha Software Employee Selwyn Rabins's Avatar
    Real Name
    Selwyn Rabins
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    5,215

    Default Re: Editors: Populating a List from a SQL Query

    Please note: The technique shown in this video is now obsolete. It is now much easier to dynamically populate a list control editor using a client-side data cache and the configuration genie for the editor in the FormView editor.

Similar Threads

  1. Editors: Cascading List Control
    By Beta Spark in forum Tablet-Optimized Form Capabilities Beta
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-03-2015, 01:30 PM
  2. Error executing SQL Count query: when using a UX to edit a list control item.
    By westridge in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-26-2015, 11:29 AM
  3. List w/ Custom Data Source - SQL Query with Nested JSON Arrays
    By TheSmitchell in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-03-2015, 07:48 AM
  4. Populating List Box
    By edunov in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-29-2010, 12:41 AM
  5. How to Populate List box from sql query results?
    By christobal in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-04-2007, 06:26 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •