Get a Jumpstart with our Sample Apps
Results 1 to 23 of 23

Thread: using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Amit lohogaonkar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    329

    Default using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)

    Is there any settings in a alpha grid that has tablet optimization. We can not use lists as it has many limitations.
    In asp.net if I use kendo grid the grid resizes for tablets. I would love to see similar feature in alpha grid.

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Amit lohogaonkar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    329

    Default Re: using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)

    for example like this-
    http://demos.telerik.com/kendo-ui/grid/index

    If you resize browser windows to tablet/phone the grid columns resizes.

  3. #3
    Alpha Software Employee Beta Spark's Avatar
    Real Name
    Sarah Mitchell
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    378

    Default Re: using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)

    The Grid Component is not designed nor optimized for mobile.
    Sarah Mitchell

    Looking for answers? Try our documentation.
    If you can't find something, let us know!

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Amit lohogaonkar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    329

    Default Re: using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)

    Thanks Sarah. In alpha software the most powerfull control is grid(add, edit, delete, export, filter, search). I hope alpha makes this responsive.(via boostrap or kendo css)

  5. #5
    Alpha Software Employee Beta Spark's Avatar
    Real Name
    Sarah Mitchell
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    378

    Default Re: using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)

    Quote Originally Posted by amitloh View Post
    Thanks Sarah. In alpha software the most powerfull control is grid(add, edit, delete, export, filter, search). I hope alpha makes this responsive.(via boostrap or kendo css)
    Everything you describe here is also supported by the List control in a UX Component. The Grid Component is a very "heavy" control and can grow quite large very quickly. We recommend using the List Control, which supports running in both mobile and web environments, including conflict resolution, offline data access, access to the file system, client side and server side search and filtering, export and import, and more.

    Can you give specific reasons why you are using the Grid Component and feel the List control is too limiting?
    Sarah Mitchell

    Looking for answers? Try our documentation.
    If you can't find something, let us know!

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Amit lohogaonkar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    329

    Default Re: using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)

    the flying genie creates grids and not lists. does list support in line editing? All of your major app demo(app server demo contains more samples for grids).
    We do not want to spend time on going deep dive in lists if there are limitations or doing it via workaround. we need real rapid way to create quick web based app that works on all devices that allows inline editing of grid (responsive). Also lists in alpha do not support in line editing. Your grids can be made responsive by applying kendo or boostrap css(just like iphone css). also there are multiple demos of lists with 3 click save which will not work for our clients as client expect one click save in large forms and grids. Imagine google asking you to click 3 times to login to gmail(click, click1 and sync)
    Last edited by amitloh; 03-31-2017 at 10:30 PM.

  7. #7
    Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,461

    Default Re: using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)

    I agree that you can build grids much faster than lists. Also, grids are generally faster rendering in my experience. In-line editing and row-expanders are a really useful aspect of grids IMO. The lack of a true row-expander in lists is an issue for me. But lists are critical for mobile and the UX is a ridiculously powerful and versatile tool. But it does take a lot of work which is why I mostly use grids if I don't need mobile. I do use the UX a lot for straight web stuff (as a form tool) because you do almost anything with it. Just wish they would come up with some decent looking styles that would apply to grids, UX, tabbed_ui, etc. An artist, I'm not.

  8. #8
    Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,461

    Default Re: using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)

    P.S. With UX you can do one-click save, but again, you may have to do a lot of work to get there. But they give you a lot of ways to do that.

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Amit lohogaonkar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    329

    Default Re: using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)

    "lots of work" is the reason for the rad tools to exist. I was able to make alpha grid responsive but it's again work for me

  10. #10
    Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,461

    Default Re: using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)

    True, but I don't see any other magic RAD tools out there. Web, mobile, it's all complicated stuff. The tools can take you a certain distance and then you have to do the hard work. And I've looked at a number of RAD products out there. I've yet to find the magical dragon slayer.

  11. #11
    Member
    Real Name
    Amit lohogaonkar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    329

    Default Re: using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)

    you are right! Alpha is awesome in data handling with so many features. I tried many other RAD tools but no one comes close to alpha.
    I am requesting responsiveness in grids and few other controls via feature request. I hope they add it in next release. Its not that difficult as I did it on one grid.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  12. #12
    Member
    Real Name
    Amit lohogaonkar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    329

    Default Re: using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)


  13. #13
    Member
    Real Name
    John Smith
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    99

    Default Re: using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)

    @Amit above post

    getting Invalid Attachment specified
    Last edited by user10; 04-01-2017 at 11:08 AM.

  14. #14
    Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,461

    Default Re: using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)


  15. #15
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Govindan Gandhi
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,249

    Default Re: using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)

    the attachment is invalid, and from the post #11 i cannot expand the image to see the result.
    i am pretty sure selwyn did something similar with @media query screen with list control.
    thanks for reading

    gandhi

    version 11 3381 - 4096
    mysql backend
    http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
    ggandhi344@gmail.com
    Skype:ggandhi344@gmail.com
    1 914 924 5171

  16. #16
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Govindan Gandhi
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,249

    Default Re: using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)

    the grid was designed for web browser applications where the screen sizes went from normal to big, bigger, biggest&widest.
    the list controls and other viewboxes are more suitable for mobile screen sizes, i am told ( i don't have version 12)
    and grid can become very big in size if lot of functionality added, i am sure.
    thanks for reading

    gandhi

    version 11 3381 - 4096
    mysql backend
    http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
    ggandhi344@gmail.com
    Skype:ggandhi344@gmail.com
    1 914 924 5171

  17. #17
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Govindan Gandhi
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,249

    Default Re: using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)

    Quote Originally Posted by amitloh View Post
    "lots of work" is the reason for the rad tools to exist.
    i do not know there is such a development tool that does not require lots of work. in alpha, you do lot less work than other tools, at least that is what i am led to believe
    thanks for reading

    gandhi

    version 11 3381 - 4096
    mysql backend
    http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
    ggandhi344@gmail.com
    Skype:ggandhi344@gmail.com
    1 914 924 5171

  18. #18
    Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,719

    Default Re: using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)

    You can get grids and the search area of grids to be sorta-kinda mobile and small screen responsive using Freeform and a CSS "responsive grid" system such as http://996grid.com/, but it is too much work. Also, as said above, the grid was built when all screens were pretty wide AND more importantly when tables where how you organized data in to columns. I know, having just gone through the new iadn.com site that all of my grid-laden pages fail miserably when validating the css on the page (using https://validator.w3.org/). Alpha is not going to go back to the old grid and fix any of those table and modern css related issues. But hopefully some day they build a new Grid that is modern.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  19. #19
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Govindan Gandhi
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,249

    Default Re: using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)

    bootstrap and kendo ui are front end manipulators, alpha does front and back ends. if you are not happy with alpha provided front end then i am sure you can work with those front end manipulators and use alpha as backend data provider, much like any other back end providers like php or asp, and use a5_mergeDataIntoTemplate function so the data can be in the design of your choice.
    thanks for reading

    gandhi

    version 11 3381 - 4096
    mysql backend
    http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
    ggandhi344@gmail.com
    Skype:ggandhi344@gmail.com
    1 914 924 5171

  20. #20
    Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,461

    Default Re: using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)

    But hopefully some day they build a new Grid that is modern.
    Aahh... a ray of sunshine.

  21. #21
    Member
    Real Name
    Amit lohogaonkar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    329

    Default Re: using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)

    I was able to make it work on my grid with some. I will be requesting it via feature request to integrate in the tool itself. We have 20+ screens and designers work externally and they will not be able to write responsive genie rules as we will have to train designers/contracters and for developers like me its too much work to make 20+ screens responsive with multiple grids and controls. Many of alpha controls are already responsive like frames etc.
    responsive (1).png

  22. #22
    Member
    Real Name
    Amit lohogaonkar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    329

    Default Re: using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)

    I made it configurable for my needs. I will add the global responsive CSS and will try to make it configurable in all of my projects. The frames in alpha are already responsive. So now I do not need to use lists for responsive projects. Alpha Grids are too powerful to be replaced with lists(inline editing, linked grids, flying genie automatic linked grids, many other proerties via RAD). Lists are good but it requires additional configuration for big editable complex forms/grids that needs to work on all devices and desktop browsers without a need of writing custom editors etc.
    responsive4.png
    responsiveproductframe.png
    responsive3.png
    responsiveproductframe1.png

  23. #23
    "Certified" Alphaholic kkfin's Avatar
    Real Name
    Kenneth
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,280

    Default Re: using grids in tablet optimised forms(resize behaviour)

    Nice pictures but obviously far from responsive.

Similar Threads

  1. Tablet Optimized Forms Beta Contest
    By Beta Spark in forum Announcements
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-18-2015, 05:05 PM
  2. license for tablet-optimised beta application server?
    By mariusm in forum Tablet-Optimized Form Capabilities Beta
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-20-2015, 06:51 PM
  3. Tablet Optimized Forms Beta Contest
    By Beta Spark in forum Tablet-Optimized Form Capabilities Beta
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-10-2015, 04:21 PM
  4. Tablet Optimized Forms Resources
    By Beta Spark in forum Tablet-Optimized Form Capabilities Beta
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-03-2015, 02:13 PM
  5. Web components dynamic resize on desktop forms?
    By seaken64 in forum General Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-24-2012, 02:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •