Get a Jumpstart with our Sample Apps
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Installed latest build and js errors

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Scott Binger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    279

    Default Installed latest build and js errors

    I just installed the latest build (4346_4889) and I'm receiving the following javascript error on several on click, on change, and on focus events throughout my UX:

    Unhandled Javascript Error - _restoreListLow: "Uncaught ReferenceError: onChange_97931801690f4de3bae167aa2d93606a is not defined"

    I should add that the javascript was working fine before updating for the latest build.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Lee Vasic
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    984

    Default Re: Installed latest build and js errors

    I started getting the same errors. There was a fix for the onchange event. Maybe the fix broke it even more.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Scott Binger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    279

    Default Re: Installed latest build and js errors

    Thanks Lee. Do you know what build the fix was in?

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    6,192

    Default Re: Installed latest build and js errors

    One cause of these errors is including bad Javascript syntax in your code. If your Javascript breaks, then required libraries may not get loaded and Alpha Javascript may not have what it needs to run. Older versions of Alpha Anywhere were more lenient when you excluded ending semi-colons in your code. The current release is less tolerant... as it should be. A clean-up of project code may do the trick.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Scott Binger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    279

    Default Re: Installed latest build and js errors

    Thanks David - is there a quick way to clean up project code?

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    6,192

    Default Re: Installed latest build and js errors

    Nope... you just have to slug through the events and functions and actions you've got.

  7. #7
    Alpha Software Employee Beta Spark's Avatar
    Real Name
    Sarah Mitchell
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    378

    Default Re: Installed latest build and js errors

    Important! Pre-rendered UX Components containing a List with updatable Detail View need to be recalculated in Alpha Anywhere 4.4.4. From the release notes:
    Alpha Anywhere V4.4.4 - Build 4346-4889 18-May-2017

    NOTICE: Alpha Anywhere is now being being built with Visual Studio 2015. Previously Alpha Anywhere was built using Visual Studio 2013.

    IMPORTANT: If you have UX components with Lists that have updatable Detail Views and these UX components were defined as pre-rendered then you will need to edit these components and resave them so that the pre-rendered code can be re-generated. You can use the Edit, Bulk Operations, Recalculate UX Components menu item to do a bulk update of your UX components.
    Try recalculating your UX Component first.
    Sarah Mitchell

    Looking for answers? Try our documentation.
    If you can't find something, let us know!

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Darren Parsons
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    138

    Default Re: Installed latest build and js errors

    I upgraded the build on my server this AM from 4269-4867 to 4346-4889 and got an error when trying to save a file to my Customers Table. The error was telling me an argument was missing in my SQL. I rolled the release back and everything work fine.

    I reread the notes and followed the procedure to re-generate my lists. Published my files and everything worked fine.

    So I updated the server to the latest build (4346-4889) and the error happened again. I rolled it back to 4269_4867 and all is good again.

    Any ideas how to fix? I did not think I had the pre-rendered code on and I did the bulk edit as described in the notes.

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    David Kates
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Unionville, ON
    Posts
    6,192

    Default Re: Installed latest build and js errors

    This is something different than Scott had. Scott, literally, had Javascript errors... missing semi-colons in his code which caused the errors he reported. Adding the semi-colons cleared the errors.

  10. #10
    Member Larry Gordon's Avatar
    Real Name
    Larry Gordon
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Worcestershire, UK
    Posts
    341

    Default Re: Installed latest build and js errors

    Like everybody else on V12, I'm getting an invite on startup to download build 4346. I did this and then couldn't start Alpha: missing VCRUNTIME140.dll so I had to uninstall and revert back to the earlier build. Having read this thread, I'm not sure I want the new patch yet...

    Meanwhile, I'm having a problem with tables, which is why I tried to install the patch. If I amend any cell properties in a table, on save, that cell inserts in own background and border colours. I am then forced to amend them to white - leave them blank and they change colour. Does anybody if this been reported elsewhere? And does this patch fix it?

  11. #11
    Member
    Real Name
    Joe Lavely
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    305

    Default Re: Installed latest build and js errors

    I keep getting this error when I open a particular UX in a tabbed UI:

    Unhandled Javascript Error "Uncaught TypeError: Cannot set property of 'userSelect' of undefined"

    I have not been able to find the cause.

    JavaUnhandled.png

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-02-2016, 05:40 PM
  2. Errors after Alpha 11 installed
    By metadyne in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-08-2014, 08:12 PM
  3. Runtime ver11 Gives errors installed in windows 8
    By MikeData in forum Alpha Five Version 11 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-11-2012, 02:53 PM
  4. Functions not working after latest release installed
    By Ted Giles in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 02-14-2009, 12:40 AM
  5. New Server installed / One machine in runtime group has errors
    By TerriH in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-30-2006, 03:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •