Get a Jumpstart with our Sample Apps
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Version 9 in Windows 10We

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Donald E. Janssen
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    35

    Default Version 9 in Windows 10We

    We use Alpha Five version 9 at a small museum on a computer using Windows 7. If we are given a new computer using Windows 10, can we install Alpha Five version 9? The museum would probably not be able to afford an upgrade to the new Alpha five version.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    24,642

    Default Re: Version 9 in Windows 10We

    Should be able to run it. You might have to run in one of the earlier Window versions compatibility modes.

    https://www.windows10forums.com/arti...bility-mode.7/
    There can be only one.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Donald E. Janssen
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: Version 9 in Windows 10We

    Thank you. We would be installing from the Alpha Five Version 9 program disk that I purchased for the museum. We use it for a file of about 5000 photos that the museum has and a list of donor members.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    24,642

    Default Re: Version 9 in Windows 10We

    If you name the new machine with the same name as the old machine and copy the activation.key file from the old to the new, you shouldn't even have to reactivate the new installation. Of course, make note of the license number before you begin the new installation.

    Activation.key should be found in the A5 program directory.

    On a Win 10 machine the activation.key is generally placed in

    C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Alpha Software\Alpha Five Version 9
    There can be only one.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Donald E. Janssen
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: Version 9 in Windows 10We

    Thank you for ;your help.

Similar Threads

  1. Licensed A5 Version 8 on Windows 7- Runtimes on Windows XP
    By TerriH in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-26-2011, 12:31 PM
  2. Can't get A5 Version 8 to run in Windows Vista
    By David D in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-23-2008, 04:06 AM
  3. Windows XP version of alpha
    By conwell in forum Upgrading to Alpha Five from Alpha Four
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-03-2007, 09:07 PM
  4. Version 6 To 8 WINDOWS PRO
    By Charles Hull in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-15-2004, 06:05 AM
  5. Using Version 4 with Windows ME
    By Barbara Solt in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-06-2001, 03:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •