Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Bitmap Field - Error Locking - Change must begin first

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Jennifer M. Payne
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    44

    Default Bitmap Field - Error Locking - Change must begin first

    I've run into a problem when trying to add bitmaps to a bitmap field.
    I receive a Error locking and next a Change must begin first. Message boxes.

    I was putting pictures into an inventory table for 19 items. I had no problems for the 11 but then I get to line 90 and started getting this error.

    The images were all converted to bmp in a batch.

    I'm thinking it's memory or space related as if I go and delete say one of the first ones and from it's field and then try to add the bitmap that matches one of the other lines I can't seem to add I am able to import the bitmap. But if I go back and try to put the matching bmp back to the one I deleted it gives me the error.

    Based on my findings:
    The type of bitmap is fine
    There is no problem if I try to use the same bitmap 2 times on two seperate records (as long as I delete 2 bmp from other fields).

    However I went and delete actual files, folders, cleaned up old stuff and other things on the server to free up space and that does not seem to fix the problem. Making space on the server not the issue but maybe in the database? Is that possible? And if so how do I fix this?

    Thanks for the help.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    24,844

    Default Re: Bitmap Field - Error Locking - Change must begin first

    There is a 2 gigabyte file size limit for Alpha tables. Depending on the size of your bitmaps you may be bumping into this limit.

    I don't remember in which version the image file reference field was introduced but that field type stores only a reference to an image. If available that might be a workable solution to your issue.
    There can be only one.

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    5,857

    Default Re: Bitmap Field - Error Locking - Change must begin first

    I think it was version 8, but for sure, you do NOT want images in the tables, they wind up in a memo field and the fpt file will hit the 2 gig limit very quickly
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldaweb.com

    Skype is dave.mason46

Similar Threads

  1. Change must begin first
    By Martann in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-25-2012, 08:15 PM
  2. "change must begin first" error message
    By foodminer in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-08-2012, 11:33 AM
  3. table change begin
    By richard2007 in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-05-2008, 02:50 PM
  4. new record - object activate - change begin
    By dik_coleman in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-29-2006, 03:03 PM
  5. Change Begin Invalid Record Number
    By forskare in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-09-2006, 12:19 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •