Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Covenrting DBF reports to SQL

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    John Mucci
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    265

    Default Covenrting DBF reports to SQL

    Does anyone have a solution to take your DBF reports and transfer the layouts to SQL?

    Thanks
    John

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Larry Grupido
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,554

    Default Re: Covenrting DBF reports to SQL

    What happens if you create a new report based on the sql table you want, then copy and paste the old report into the new report.

    You can then go into each data control and point it to the correct data point.

    I have never done it from db to sql, but it might work.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    John Mucci
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    265

    Default Re: Covenrting DBF reports to SQL

    Quote Originally Posted by lgrupido View Post
    What happens if you create a new report based on the sql table you want, then copy and paste the old report into the new report.

    You can then go into each data control and point it to the correct data point.

    I have never done it from db to sql, but it might work.
    Thanks I did give that a try and Alpha does not offer the SQL report as a copy to in the list ..

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Larry Grupido
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,554

    Default Re: Covenrting DBF reports to SQL

    No.

    Create a new, blank report.

    Go into the old report, select all controls (or at least all controls in the detail section) and press Control C.

    Go into the new, blank report, put your cursor in the detail section, press Control V.

    Doesn't that copy in the controls?

    If so, repeat for any other sections, like the header and the footer.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    John Mucci
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    265

    Default Re: Covenrting DBF reports to SQL

    Quote Originally Posted by lgrupido View Post
    No.

    Create a new, blank report.

    Go into the old report, select all controls (or at least all controls in the detail section) and press Control C.

    Go into the new, blank report, put your cursor in the detail section, press Control V.

    Doesn't that copy in the controls?

    If so, repeat for any other sections, like the header and the footer.

    Sorry yes that does work and that is how I've done it but does take a good amount of clean-up when you have groups. Thought there may be an easier way.
    Thanks

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Larry Grupido
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,554

    Default Re: Covenrting DBF reports to SQL

    If there is an easier way, I don't know it, sorry.

Similar Threads

  1. How to transfer workspace reports to project reports
    By cptutrecht in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-24-2013, 02:54 AM
  2. Converting Freeform reports to Layout reports
    By Peter.Greulich in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-10-2012, 11:55 AM
  3. Problem setting up permissions to design and run some Reports, but not all Reports
    By ray camo in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-13-2012, 04:22 PM
  4. Problem setting up permissions to design and run some Reports, but not all Reports
    By ray camo in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-12-2012, 02:10 PM
  5. opinions wantted merits of pdf reports vs html reports and vice versa
    By drgarytraub in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-03-2008, 05:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •