Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How can I force a new page on a report based on field values ?

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Larry F. Carraher
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    127

    Default How can I force a new page on a report based on field values ?

    Greetings,

    I have a report that I want the user to be able to force a new page, if necessary. I've set up a new field and if that field is populated, want the system to force anew page, complete with headings.

    How can I make this happen ?

    Thanks, as always.

    Lar

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,479

    Default Re: How can I force a new page on a report based on field values ?

    What type of report are you using?

    When do you want the user to interact with Alpha?

    Prior to the report running, during a preview of the report, some other time?

    Probably best to setup a simple example that isn't part of a more complicated report. Can you make a sample and post it here?

    Figure out that part of the report and then integrate into the expected report.

    To control the page break, I would start with a conditional object that contains a page break under the tab that is based on the value of your field to trigger the page break. ( although with testing that isn't working too good..)

    Then the page headings are controlled by the headings regions.
    Last edited by Al Buchholz; 11-19-2017 at 12:12 PM.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Larry F. Carraher
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    127

    Default Re: How can I force a new page on a report based on field values ?

    So Al,

    Here's what the report looks like NOW. As you can see, it's OK EXCEPT for the overflow on page 2. It sure would be nice to be able to specify the heading for Sunday would go on a new page. I have a field over which I built Break Section 2. If there is a value in this field, other than zero, I thought it would generate the page break. Guess I am wrong. Any ideas ?

    Lar
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Member Bob Whitaker's Avatar
    Real Name
    Bob Whitaker
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Sutton-Coldfield, UK
    Posts
    682

    Default Re: How can I force a new page on a report based on field values ?

    You appear to have a group break based on the date, in the properties for that group select “keep group together on page”or similar, that should do what you want ...... I think

    Bob
    Bob Whitaker


  5. #5
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,479

    Default Re: How can I force a new page on a report based on field values ?

    Quote Originally Posted by nugget3825 View Post
    So Al,

    Here's what the report looks like NOW. As you can see, it's OK EXCEPT for the overflow on page 2. It sure would be nice to be able to specify the heading for Sunday would go on a new page. I have a field over which I built Break Section 2. If there is a value in this field, other than zero, I thought it would generate the page break. Guess I am wrong. Any ideas ?

    Lar
    The example of the output helps.

    An example of the report with sample data to test on our own machine would be much better..

    But given that, you should right click the group band where under the Head/Foot tab there is an option for the Has group header. Under that is an option for Repeats at page/group break. Choose that option too.

    GroupHeaderRepeats.png
    Last edited by Al Buchholz; 11-19-2017 at 11:42 PM.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,479

    Default Re: How can I force a new page on a report based on field values ?

    Haven't heard from you Larry.

    Hope all is well.

    Are you looking to split each day into a single page?

    Can do that too by having another another group outside of the transno group that is based on a variable set to .t. or .f. with a calculated field to group on.

    If true than group on transno else a constant.

    Put a page break in the footer of that group and the same report can work with a continuous flow or a page by page per date.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

Similar Threads

  1. Force report to only print 1 page
    By Gustavo1478 in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-01-2017, 09:50 PM
  2. Force Group to start on odd numbered report page
    By GDShiell in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-26-2008, 03:30 PM
  3. Force Report Footer to Start on New Page
    By jkletrovets in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-08-2007, 05:30 PM
  4. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-06-2006, 04:53 PM
  5. Force field value based on another field
    By Lawrence Fox in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-04-2006, 09:01 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •