Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Close message box

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Miles Nolan
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    258

    Default Close message box

    Hi

    We have a process where we load an a5w page from a grid , that creates a pdf many pages long..,

    We have it all working well except we just need a simple message to let the user know the process is running ..

    Does anyone have any good way to do this ?

    many thanks in advance

    john

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Govindan Gandhi
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,294

    Default Re: Close message box

    how are you calling that a5w page?
    thanks for reading

    gandhi

    version 11 3381 - 4096
    mysql backend
    http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
    ggandhi344@gmail.com
    Skype:ggandhi344@gmail.com
    1 914 924 5171

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Miles Nolan
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    258

    Default Re: Close message box

    Quote Originally Posted by GGandhi View Post
    how are you calling that a5w page?

    Hi

    I am calling it from action JavaScript using the open a5w page

    I then pass my page variables which runs code on my a5w page.

    If I could find a way to simply use the a5.msgboxclosr that would solve my problem but I can

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Govindan Gandhi
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,294

    Default Re: Close message box

    i am thinking, if you are using a button to open the a5w page, then you may try to add an id to the button and change the title to something like working etc.,
    and if the call to a5w is an ajaxcallback then at the end of the callback change the name to whatever you had originally. something like that may be feasible.
    if you show how the page is called i could think in this line and see if it is workable.
    thanks for reading

    gandhi

    version 11 3381 - 4096
    mysql backend
    http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
    ggandhi344@gmail.com
    Skype:ggandhi344@gmail.com
    1 914 924 5171

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Miles Nolan
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    258

    Default Re: Close message box

    Quote Originally Posted by GGandhi View Post
    i am thinking, if you are using a button to open the a5w page, then you may try to add an id to the button and change the title to something like working etc.,
    and if the call to a5w is an ajaxcallback then at the end of the callback change the name to whatever you had originally. something like that may be feasible.
    if you show how the page is called i could think in this line and see if it is workable.
    Hi thanks for coming back to me. , I will upload some screen shots tomorrow your advice is greatly appreciated

    I

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Miles Nolan
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    258

    Default Re: Close message box

    Hi Gandi

    Screen shot of how I am calling the a5w page

    Capture.JPG

    thanks

    john

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Govindan Gandhi
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,294

    Default Re: Close message box

    i know that part, that is easy.
    editClick part - you clicking an object correct, is that a toolbar button, gridRow or a button in the grid row?
    or something different altogether? if i know about that then i will see if i can do something in that line.
    thanks for reading

    gandhi

    version 11 3381 - 4096
    mysql backend
    http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
    ggandhi344@gmail.com
    Skype:ggandhi344@gmail.com
    1 914 924 5171

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Miles Nolan
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    258

    Default Re: Close message box

    Quote Originally Posted by GGandhi View Post
    i know that part, that is easy.
    editClick part - you clicking an object correct, is that a toolbar button, gridRow or a button in the grid row?
    or something different altogether? if i know about that then i will see if i can do something in that line.
    Hi

    Yes this called from an action button on the bottom of the grid

    Thanks

    John

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Govindan Gandhi
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,294

    Default Re: Close message box

    here is something tp try:
    when you give the name for the button do this way <span id="myButton">MY BUTTON</span> // this is just an example make something that works for you.
    then in the onClick event of the toolbar action button add an inline javascript function
    document.getElementById('myButton').innerHTML = "Working..";
    then your actions you had before.
    then go to the a5w if it is a popup window or something when you close
    add another inline javascript
    document.getElementById('myButton').innerHTML = "MY BUTTON";

    i haven't tried this yet.
    you can also put up a blocking screen instead of changing the name ( look all the way down to see the blocking screen function in the action javascript pop up)
    if this does not help please post back and let me see if i can device something else.
    thanks for reading

    gandhi

    version 11 3381 - 4096
    mysql backend
    http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
    ggandhi344@gmail.com
    Skype:ggandhi344@gmail.com
    1 914 924 5171

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    Miles Nolan
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    258

    Default Re: Close message box

    Hi Gandi

    thanks for your help, just on this point <span id="myButton">MY BUTTON</span>
    Where would I put this , here is a screen shot of when I call the button

    Capture 1.JPG

    thanks in advance

    john

  11. #11
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Govindan Gandhi
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,294

    Default Re: Close message box

    https://www.screencast.com/t/8X6d1e7EZe8

    this is the way it is in version 11, i do not have version 12
    use it on button text property
    Last edited by GGandhi; 11-22-2017 at 11:45 AM.
    thanks for reading

    gandhi

    version 11 3381 - 4096
    mysql backend
    http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
    ggandhi344@gmail.com
    Skype:ggandhi344@gmail.com
    1 914 924 5171

  12. #12
    Member
    Real Name
    Miles Nolan
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    258

    Default Re: Close message box

    Hi Gandi
    Yes I have v 11 also, I see where to put there now, however that's not helping i'm afraid.. When you press the button I launch another tab in a tabbed Ui , so the window where the button is pressed loses focus..
    What I need is a message displaying on the A5w page really.

    So, the user press the button Plain PDF,
    Capture 1.JPG

    this launches this code
    Capture.JPG
    then a new tab is opened in the tabbed UI, whilst the code on the a5w page is executed
    Capture2.JPG
    It is at this point I would like a message
    then the codes finishes executing and the PDF is generated
    capture3.JPG

    thanks so much for your help

  13. #13
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Govindan Gandhi
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,294

    Default Re: Close message box

    oh i see
    it is little more complicated i will certainly take a look tonight.
    edit: you need the message when the tabbed ui opened but before the report actually shown in between because it is taking extra time?
    thanks for reading

    gandhi

    version 11 3381 - 4096
    mysql backend
    http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
    ggandhi344@gmail.com
    Skype:ggandhi344@gmail.com
    1 914 924 5171

Similar Threads

  1. Can i prevent dialog window close, or capture the click on the close button?
    By WindForce in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-26-2014, 04:39 AM
  2. can't close error message
    By foodminer in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-31-2008, 10:33 PM
  3. DDE Error Message on V7 Runtime with a5.close() method...
    By awj in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 60
    Last Post: 02-13-2007, 06:21 PM
  4. Form Close Message
    By jacklcs in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-12-2006, 08:48 AM
  5. Can close button be removed on Message Box?
    By Jeff Fried in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-20-2004, 09:55 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •