Get a Jumpstart with our Sample Apps
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: How to display the results of dynamic SQL?

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Carlos Urbina
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    4

    Default How to display the results of dynamic SQL?

    We are developing a tablet-based Investigator Query tool for our clinical staff with Alpha Anywhere as the front end and SQL Server as the back-end. The intermediate result is a SQL Statement which can include any subset of 900+ fields distributed over 20+ tables. The front end/back end artifacts that create the SQL for the final query are complete. Now we need to know how to create a means to display the results of this query to the investigator. Being in the process of learning Alpha Anywhere, I am not clear how to create a report or grid or any other component that can display the results based on a dynamic query. In other words, we don't know what columns will be displayed until the final query is composed. I have reviewed Alpha Forum videos 4942, 4331, 2914 and 5290 for ideas and I may try something like they describe. But first I would like to ask if anyone has suggestions or videos that are closer to the problem.

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Carlos Urbina
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: How to display the results of dynamic SQL?

    I also reviewed Doron Farber's blog on "Create report in Alpha Five - One Report Does It All With Alpha Anywhere".

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Sean OKelly
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Charleston, WV
    Posts
    76

    Default Re: How to display the results of dynamic SQL?

    Hey Carlos, are you looking for actual reporting OR are you looking for displaying the data in a consistent manner using a dynamically generated list? You can display columns with a dynamic list without knowing what the fields are to start with. Generally, a dynamic list would be one that is populated by Client Side Data Cache. The CSDC is populated from an SQL query.

    For actual reporting, you can also create a template system for reporting which would include placecards for fields and then insert data into those fields (using regular HTML). The template itself could be created using any HTML editor and stored in a database.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Rich Fulham
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    748

    Default Re: How to display the results of dynamic SQL?

    Carlos,
    I am not sure where to find those Videos with the four-digit numbers that you mentioned.

    But, in AA, go to the "Help" menu and select "Video Finder". Put the following into the "Filter" box:

    Generic SQL

    Video # UXL_V12--73, "Dynamically Populating a List Columns and Data - Generic SQL Table Viewer" should be quite helpful.

Similar Threads

  1. Dynamic Query Results - V9 versus V12
    By Graeme Lincoln in forum Windows Desktop Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-26-2014, 12:25 PM
  2. sql_get_value --> split results into Display / Value array
    By pettechservices in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-19-2012, 12:32 AM
  3. Display the Search Date results on a report?
    By Rich Hartnett in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-06-2010, 09:14 AM
  4. Display List Box Results
    By kyosadls in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 05-13-2009, 08:55 AM
  5. How to display query results in a browse on form?
    By brett s in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-24-2006, 10:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •