Get a Jumpstart with our Sample Apps
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Summary Operation vs xBasic tbl.summarize()

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic Tom Henkel's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tom Henkel
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,816

    Default Summary Operation vs xBasic tbl.summarize()

    We have a curious situation here. We have been running a tbl.summarize() piece of code for years. I needed to make some changes to the table structure, and now, it seems that the xBasic code doesn't seem to want to work. I have a summarize operation that works, and creates the appropriate records in the summary table. We needed to create the xBasic option because we need to pass a variable into the filter, and the operation doesn't afford us the option of having variables (as far as I know). What is even more curious is that if I convert the operation to xBasic using the "XB" on the toolbar, it created the exact code I had in my script, however, it doesn't summarize the data.

    this is the code;
    Code:
    'from the interactive window
    dim pmtdate as D = {12/21/2017}
    filter = replace_parameters("(isblank(\"GAAS\").or.GAAS=\"N\").and.G09_ISS_DT=ALLTRIM(REMSPECIAL(DTOC([varD->pmtdate]))).AND.RELEASE=\"Y\".AND.(Rec_Type = \"EA\".or.(Rec_Type = \"TRA\".and.substr(G09_ISS_DT,3,2)<>\"01\")).AND.APPEND_DATE={}",local_variables())
    ?filter 
    = (isblank("GAAS").or.GAAS="N").and.G09_ISS_DT=ALLTRIM(REMSPECIAL(DTOC({12/21/2017}))).AND.RELEASE="Y".AND.(Rec_Type = "EA".or.(Rec_Type = "TRA".and.substr(G09_ISS_DT,3,2)<>"01")).AND.APPEND_DATE={}
    
    'now the code from the script...
    
    	'build the filter using the date variable
    	filter = replace_parameters("(isblank(\"GAAS\").or.GAAS=\"N\").and.G09_ISS_DT=ALLTRIM(REMSPECIAL(DTOC([varD->pmtdate]))).AND.RELEASE=\"Y\".AND.(Rec_Type = \"EA\".or.(Rec_Type = \"TRA\".and.substr(G09_ISS_DT,3,2)<>\"01\")).AND.APPEND_DATE={}",local_variables())
    	a_tbl = table.open("daily_supsvc")
    	sum.db = "dimps_sum2.DBF"
    	sum.db_dd_delete = .T.
    	sum.order = "G01_CASE"
    	sum.filter = filter 
    	'sum.filter = "(ALLTRIM(GAAS)=\"\".OR.GAAS=\"N\").AND.G09_ISS_DT=REMSPECIAL(DTOC({12/21/2017})).AND.RELEASE=\"Y\".AND.(REC_TYPE=\"Ea\".OR.(REC_TYPE=\"Tra\".AND.SUBSTR(G09_ISS_DT,3,2)<>\"01\")).AND.APPEND_DATE={}"
    	sum.options = "I"
    	sum.fields = 5
    	sum.field1 = "G01_Case"
    	sum.code1 = 0
    	sum.field2 = "G01_Case"
    	sum.code2 = 2
    	sum.field3 = "G10_Ck_Amt"
    	sum.code3 = 1
    	sum.field4 = "val(substr(G01_Case,2,6))"
    	sum.code4 = 1
    	sum.field5 = "Seq_No"
    	sum.code5 = 6
    	a_tbl.summarize()
    I've also attached a picture of the operation with it's filter.

    If anyone sees something glaring, please let me know.

    Thanks,

    Tom
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    24,697

    Default Re: SUmmary Operation vs xBasic tbl.summarize()

    The only thing I would suggest is to restart the machine running the code. I have encountered unexplained behavior that suggested the original code was somehow held in memory and being executed rather than the altered code.
    There can be only one.

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,211

    Default Re: SUmmary Operation vs xBasic tbl.summarize()

    Are you closing a_tbl after the op runs in your script?
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic Tom Henkel's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tom Henkel
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,816

    Default Re: SUmmary Operation vs xBasic tbl.summarize()

    Stan, Did that to no avail.

    Robin, Yes, we did close the table.

    ISSUE Resolved.

    I checked another application that produces the same basic end result and saw that we were using a variable in the filter of the summary operation. We just declared it as a global in the script beforehand.

    I declared a global variable "pmtdate" in the IW, then edited the operation, placing the variable in the summary folder, and MAGIC, it worked!!!

    This is much cleaner than modifying code, and best of all, it works. I'm still stymied by the problem, but we REALLY needed to get this working as it's been down for over a week.
    This process produces a text file in a specific format for another program to use the text file as input to an OLD mainframe application. The outcome of it is that we (the state) are paying clients or vendors for specific types of assistance. The run I did this morning was for over 40K, so you can see that it is kind of important that it works.

    Thanks, for looking.


    Have a great holiday!

    Tom

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,211

    Default Re: SUmmary Operation vs xBasic tbl.summarize()

    What about the variable 'filter' is that global as well? I wouldn't think pmtdate needs to be global since you are using replace_parameters to set the value beforehand.
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic Tom Henkel's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tom Henkel
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,816

    Default Re: SUmmary Operation vs xBasic tbl.summarize()

    Robin,

    I put the entire expression from "filter" into the record selection filter of the operation. Never really thought about leaving it out of the expression and just declaring the "Filter" as a global...

    Tom

Similar Threads

  1. No Xbasic for Summarize operation?
    By MoGrace in forum Alpha Five Version 11 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-19-2017, 09:42 PM
  2. Can you help me with my first Summarize operation?
    By sgerber in forum Alpha Five Version 11 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-12-2012, 03:00 AM
  3. Summarize Operation
    By metadyne in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-31-2007, 01:37 PM
  4. Summarize Operation
    By johngt in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-28-2005, 02:47 PM
  5. Bug in summarize operation
    By brett s in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-16-2004, 01:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •