Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Owner - retired

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Verne Payne
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    1

    Default Owner - retired

    I retired from active accounting & kept my database of clients. When I tried to access an old friend to get their address I go the message that the program wasn't licensed for this computer. I put in the only license number I had that came with the disc. what gives?

    Verne Payne
    Retired
    VEP Accounting & Taxes

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic CharlesParker's Avatar
    Real Name
    Charles Parker
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    1,899

    Default Re: Owner - retired

    You should probably contact Alpha directly by email or a phone call - this message board is not advertised to be monitored by AS all the time and your post could easily get overlooked. You may want to include your software version and complete contact info when you email them.
    https://www.alphasoftware.com/support-incident.asp
    Good luck!
    NWCOPRO Nuisance Wildlife Control Software-My Application: http://www.nwcopro.com "I am not discouraged, because every wrong attempt discarded is another step forward."

  3. #3
    Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,787

    Default Re: Owner - retired

    I cannot recall the exact timing but sometime around Windows 7 or XP, any Windows based Alpha version prior to (I think) version 10.5 will not work properly. Advice is to find an older computer, copy all of your Alpha files to that computer, and open it there. If you don't have an older computer, another option is to find someone here with a new version of Alpha, like version 11, and give them your database to open if for you. The only other alternative is going to cost you plenty to upgrade Alpha to the latest version.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Gregg Schmidt
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee
    Posts
    1,067

    Default Re: Owner - retired

    Hi Verne,
    There are a couple options here, none of which should be attempted without first making a copy of the files you have.
    There is an option to run Alpha in "compatibility mode". You do this by right-clicking on the Alpha5 icon, then choose properties, then choose compatibility (see image).
    The other option is to take advantage of Alpha Software's Demo option. I believe this gives you 30 days to "kick the tires" at no charge.
    Capture.PNG

Similar Threads

  1. Owner Draw
    By dik_coleman in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-02-2004, 06:08 PM
  2. Owner/Builder App?
    By Alan Hendry in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-11-2004, 07:28 PM
  3. Two Owner Draw directives in conflict?
    By Bob Pickle in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-21-2003, 10:52 AM
  4. Win 98 To Be Retired Dec. 15, 2003
    By George Pelkofer in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-08-2003, 08:01 PM
  5. owner draw strings in text edit controls?
    By Peter.Wayne in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-10-2002, 10:48 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •