Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Migrate v10.5 Application to Azure Cloud

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Scott Carr
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    5

    Default Migrate v10.5 Application to Azure Cloud

    Have a charity client that would like to use the Azure cloud to run their app going forward, but I have little experience with Alpha 5. It appears that they use an SQL based database with Alpha Application Server as their front end. How would I get the app migrated from the current Windows 2003 Server to Azure cloud? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Nate Battles
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: MIgrate v10.5 Application to Azure Cloud

    The Alpha web application files are relatively straight forward to migrate/ move over. Install the version of alpha on the new server, then move the webroot and other dependent files.

    You could use something like Navicat to move the database. If they're using that old of an OS, then the SQL v. must be very old as well - would have to test a newer - support version of SQL Express, Web, Standard.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Scott Carr
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: MIgrate v10.5 Application to Azure Cloud

    Quote Originally Posted by nate.zebrahost View Post
    The Alpha web application files are relatively straight forward to migrate/ move over. Install the version of alpha on the new server, then move the webroot and other dependent files.

    You could use something like Navicat to move the database. If they're using that old of an OS, then the SQL v. must be very old as well - would have to test a newer - support version of SQL Express, Web, Standard.
    Alpha Error.png

    Here is the error that I get when I try to open the same workspace in Windows 2012 server. Should I be using Windows 2008 instead? Did I miss something during the install?

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,483

    Default Re: MIgrate v10.5 Application to Azure Cloud

    Quote Originally Posted by FarmhouseNetworking View Post
    Alpha Error.png

    Here is the error that I get when I try to open the same workspace in Windows 2012 server. Should I be using Windows 2008 instead? Did I miss something during the install?
    Run in a compatibility mode - win 7 should work. - right click the program - properties compatibility - change for all users.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Scott Carr
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: MIgrate v10.5 Application to Azure Cloud

    Quote Originally Posted by Al Buchholz View Post
    Run in a compatibility mode - win 7 should work. - right click the program - properties compatibility - change for all users.
    Surprisingly that worked. Thanks Al.

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Scott Carr
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: MIgrate v10.5 Application to Azure Cloud

    Nate,

    Sorry for the newbie questions, but "database move" like physically moving the file to the new server and attaching to newer version of SQL? Or is there more involved like changing pointers in the DB?

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Nate Battles
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: Migrate v10.5 Application to Azure Cloud

    If you move the database to a new server, then you would need to update your connection strings, yes - since your IPs will change.

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Scott Carr
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Migrate v10.5 Application to Azure Cloud

    Quote Originally Posted by nate.zebrahost View Post
    If you move the database to a new server, then you would need to update your connection strings, yes - since your IPs will change.
    Moved the database, changed the connection strings, attached the database, had to create 32-bit ODBC for this particular app, and got a login screen - success.

    How do I create an instance of application server that runs as a service on startup?

Similar Threads

  1. Application server IIS sql azure database error
    By josimarviana in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-26-2018, 01:53 PM
  2. Migrate application server to new server
    By Flommer in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-13-2013, 12:55 AM
  3. Alpha Server in Azure VM / SQL Azure requires SQL Native Client 2012
    By cmkivio in forum Application Server Version 11 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-25-2013, 09:43 AM
  4. Cloud computing wit Microsoft Azure platform
    By koga101 in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-16-2010, 05:57 PM
  5. Migrate v9 desktop application to v10 app server
    By MartinR in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-27-2010, 04:50 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •