Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Adobe Acrobat backgrounds

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Tom Mills
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    497

    Default Adobe Acrobat backgrounds

    Didn't see this capability but I have not used the web portion of V6 much.

    Our school (like many places) has tons of forms on line as pdf's. The problem is, they are not database driven, so best a person can do (without Acrobat Professional) is fill out the form, and print it.

    Seems to me it would be a big selling point if A5V6 could use a pdf as the background image on a web page, and we could construct fields/database to enable web users to complete and save their results.

  2. #2
    Alpha Software Employee Selwyn Rabins's Avatar
    Real Name
    Selwyn Rabins
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    5,237

    Default RE: Adobe Acrobat backgrounds

    a pdf cannot be dislayed as a background to a form, but a bitmap can. (this is a limitation of html - not a limitation introduced by alpha)


    you would need to make a bitmap image of the pdf.


    html allows you very precise control over the positioning of contros on a page. you could easily design a page that had the controls on top of the corresponding field on the bitmap.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Tom Mills
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    497

    Default RE: Adobe Acrobat backgrounds

    Would .jpg work just as well? (Since they are smaller)

  4. #4
    Alpha Software Employee Selwyn Rabins's Avatar
    Real Name
    Selwyn Rabins
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    5,237

    Default RE: Adobe Acrobat backgrounds

    absolutely. any image type that a browse can render. this would also include .png and .gif

  5. #5
    Member aal_fareed's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ahmed Shahin
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Saudi Arabia - Jeddah
    Posts
    376

    Default Re: Adobe Acrobat backgrounds

    i dont see how do i change the location of each fields from combonent .


    can you explan more about that pls ?

Similar Threads

  1. Adobe Acrobat
    By Dewey Pasquini in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-26-2004, 07:30 PM
  2. Adobe Acrobat 6.0
    By Phil Rolf in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-05-2004, 05:27 AM
  3. GPF - Form Backgrounds
    By Bob Houle in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-04-2002, 05:07 AM
  4. Adobe Acrobat printer problem
    By John S. Boston in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-10-2002, 07:51 AM
  5. Opening Adobe Acrobat Files
    By Rhett Scott in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-15-2002, 04:12 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •