Get a Jumpstart with our Sample Apps
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Mexican needs help with Network Optimized

  1. #1
    Member Mario Prieto's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mario Prieto
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Las Cruces, NM
    Posts
    364

    Default Mexican needs help with Network Optimized

    Scenario:
    I just developed an application and I would like to put it in our company server. I have the 10-user Runtime version and all 10 users have it installed already(Runtime).
    I know Alpha has the "Network Optimized" option. But how do you use it??
    At this point I am guessing according to what I've seen.
    Step1.- Install Runtime in all user's computers.
    Step2.- Install Application in a shared folder in the server.
    Step3.- I need help on this step??

    Gracias guys for any help on this.

    P.S: Oh by the way Selwyn if you happen to see this message, just want to tell you that in all universities in Mexico it would be very easy to convince them to use Alpha instead of Access as their database platform for students. You may have to come up with some free copies of Alpha and they would buy the Runtime.......... just a though.

  2. #2
    jensharloff
    Guest

    Default RE: Mexican needs help with Network Optimized

    Hi Mario,

    It's quite simple.

    Open the application on the server from the workstation.

    Do a network optimization on the workstation and close the application.

    Next time you open the application, open it directly from the created shadow application on the workstation.

    Voila !

    Cheers
    Jens

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Cal Locklin
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    S.E. Michigan
    Posts
    5,752

    Default RE: Mexican needs help with Network Optimized

    You will have to get to the control panel with the application still active in order to run it the first time. (Tools/Network Optimize)

    - Start the runtime.
    - Start the application.
    - Close the main menu to get to the control panel. If your application hides the control panel you will need a 'secret button' to unhide it.
    - Then click Tools/Network Optimize from the menu.

    You should also include a button on your application so users can run the refresh optimize when you make application changes.

    (I've done the first optimize in more 'automated' ways but it's just not worth it on a local server with 10 seats.)

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Barry Rochford
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    452

    Default RE: Mexican needs help with Network Optimized

    Go to this link and print out the .PDF file on Using/Installing the Runtime.
    This is from the announcements Section of the msg board.
    -Barry

    http://www.alphasoftware.com/products/runtime/Alpha%20Five%20V5%20Runtime%20Documentation.pdf

  5. #5
    Alpha Software Employee Selwyn Rabins's Avatar
    Real Name
    Selwyn Rabins
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    5,218

    Default RE: Mexican needs help with Network Optimized

    thanks for the email.

    would love to have all students in Mexico use Alpha Five.

    i will ask Richard Rabins to contact you to discuss how we can get moving on this.

    thanks.

  6. #6
    Alpha Software Employee Richard Rabins's Avatar
    Real Name
    Richard Rabins
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    2,338

    Default RE: Mexican needs help with Network Optimized

    Mario

    Thanks very much for the post on the Alpha Software message board.

    I would love to get your advice re offering Alpha Five to Mexican Students.

    Please let me know your thoughts.


    I would also be glad to call you if you reply with your phone number and the best time to call you.

    Sincerely
    Richard Rabins
    Alpha Software

    781 229 4500
    617 838 4488 cell phone

    richrad@alphasoftware.com

    PS we are also very interested in working with Schools, Colleges and Universities in other countries (including the US). Please contact me for more details

Similar Threads

  1. Maintaining optimized applications
    By whanigsberg in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-02-2005, 10:37 PM
  2. Please help The Mexican
    By Mario Prieto in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-25-2004, 01:40 PM
  3. Modifying queries to run optimized
    By whanigsberg in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 06-25-2002, 06:32 PM
  4. Optimized Network
    By Thomas Henkel in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 05-25-2001, 04:01 PM
  5. Packing a table from a network optimized client?
    By Jeff Moses in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-06-2000, 07:36 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •