Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Format Input box for Phone number

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Charlie Crimmel
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    1,695

    Default Format Input box for Phone number

    I need to format an input box for a phone number, so that is the user keys in a value it will format the information

    304 757 0000 would format to (304) 755-0000

    Charlie Crimmel

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Steve Workings
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    The Dreaded Chair
    Posts
    5,510

    Default

    You can't apply a mask on the web like you can on the desktop. Most web sites simply use three different input fields --one for area code, one for exchange, and one for the last four positions. That's what I've been doing, then combining them with Xbasic to get the format that I want in the field.
    -Steve


  3. #3
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,619

    Default

    Any mask that you want applied in the browser would need to use client-side coding (Javascript). Here's one solution: http://javascript.internet.com/forms/dfilter.html

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Charlie Crimmel
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    1,695

    Default Format Phone Number on A5W dialg box

    I still cannot get the phone number box to format using java script
    attached is a word document

    First part is the java script that goes into the A5 page header

    Second part is the java script call that goes into the freeform editor on the A5 componet for Vphone

    Any help would be appreciated

    Charlie crimmel

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Charlie Crimmel
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    1,695

    Default Format Phone Number on A5W dialg box

    Format Phone Number on A5W dialg box

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    I still cannot get the phone number box to format using java script
    attached is a word document

    First part is the java script that goes into the A5 page header

    Second part is the java script call that goes into the freeform editor on the A5 componet for Vphone

    Any help would be appreciated

    Charlie crimmel

Similar Threads

  1. Clean up messy phone no format function
    By Peter.Greulich in forum Code Archive
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-28-2006, 11:43 PM
  2. blank spaces in a phone number
    By ken in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-06-2005, 04:39 PM
  3. Formatting a Phone Number
    By George Smyth in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 08-20-2005, 12:20 AM
  4. phone number mask
    By Richard Mendrala in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-21-2005, 04:22 PM
  5. Purchase 4.5 Phone Number
    By robert bannerman in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-07-2001, 07:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •