Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: select multiple records with check boxes?

  1. #1
    Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,503

    Default select multiple records with check boxes?

    From Alpha's web site:



    Alpha Five Feature Walkthrough

    More Web Component Capabilities

    Suppose you need to send multiple emails or print multiple records. With a grid component, you can select multiple records with check boxes.

    How?

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Clint Griggs
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    194

    Default Re: select multiple records with check boxes?

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter.Greulich
    From Alpha's web site:



    Alpha Five Feature Walkthrough

    More Web Component Capabilities

    Suppose you need to send multiple emails or print multiple records. With a grid component, you can select multiple records with check boxes.

    How?
    I'd imagine, you'd flag a field in the grid then query the data that grid was displaying and iterate around those flagged records and then send an email for each record that had that field as marked "True".

    At least, that's how I'd do it.

  3. #3
    Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,503

    Default Re: select multiple records with check boxes?

    Quote Originally Posted by clintg@erols.com
    I'd imagine, you'd flag a field in the grid then query the data that grid was displaying and iterate around those flagged records and then send an email for each record that had that field as marked "True".
    The trouble with that method is, it doesn't lend itself to a multi-user environment - esp. on the web!

  4. #4
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,619

    Default Re: select multiple records with check boxes?

    Take a look at example 1.14. That sample happens to use the multiple selections to generate a PDF, but you could just as easily send emails or take some other action using the selection.

  5. #5
    Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,503

    Default Re: select multiple records with check boxes?

    Here is a picture. I assume it is doable?
    Alpha Five Feature Walkthrough

    More Web Component Capabilities

    Suppose you need to send multiple emails or print multiple records. With a grid component, you can select multiple records with check boxes.

  6. #6
    Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,503

    Default Re: select multiple records with check boxes?

    Ok, thanks Lenny. It would be helpful to have a guide that explains how you do all of this.

  7. #7
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,619

    Default Re: select multiple records with check boxes?

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter.Greulich
    Ok, thanks Lenny. It would be helpful to have a guide that explains how you do all of this.
    Feel free to send an email to guides@alphasoftware.com and be more specific about "all of this".

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Clint Griggs
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    194

    Default Re: select multiple records with check boxes?

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter.Greulich
    The trouble with that method is, it doesn't lend itself to a multi-user environment - esp. on the web!

    Sure it does. Let's assume you wanted a particular user to send spam (er bulk mail) via a grid.

    The person marking the records could be associated with those selected records (using a pulldown on the grid that had their unique ID [eg email address]).

    Upon submit, the records with *their* ID would be marked as *theirs* to send.

    When you did the subsequent iteration to read for selected records, your program would only look for records that matched that user's unique ID and use that to send from that person.

    Upon successful sending, the records would be unmarked for the next round of spam, er bulk mail.

  9. #9
    Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,503

    Default Re: select multiple records with check boxes?

    So while the user_id slot of a particular record is monopolized by user 1, user_2 can't spam the selected person, goes home angry and writes a virus which destroys all database developers over the age of fifty.

  10. #10
    Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,503

    Default Re: select multiple records with check boxes?

    Quote Originally Posted by Lenny Forziati
    Feel free to send an email to guides@alphasoftware.com and be more specific about "all of this".
    Done!

  11. #11
    Member
    Real Name
    Clint Griggs
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    194

    Default Re: select multiple records with check boxes?

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter.Greulich
    So while the user_id slot of a particular record is monopolized by user 1, user_2 can't spam the selected person, goes home angry and writes a virus which destroys all database developers over the age of fifty.
    Hmm, let's see, how long does it take to lock x number of records while updating to associate with 1 user, then read those records, send the emails and then update them so they may be used again? Days? Hours? Seconds?

    Ok if that's no good. Instead of associating the record with a single user, simply *copy* the record tagged by the user to a separate table (locking nothing) and then send emails from those copied records.

    p.s. you have users that write viruses? You need some better users. /nods

  12. #12
    Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,503

    Default Re: select multiple records with check boxes?

    I used your method in the past. What would happen is that the user would not clear the values when they finished. And sometimes there were real time conflicts. Sure, you could auto clear the values when they close the form or page (maybe), but again, you might be clearing others as well.

    Hey, my users are viruses.

  13. #13
    Member
    Real Name
    Clint Griggs
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    194

    Default Re: select multiple records with check boxes?

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter.Greulich
    Here is a picture. I assume it is doable?
    Alpha Five Feature Walkthrough

    More Web Component Capabilities

    Suppose you need to send multiple emails or print multiple records. With a grid component, you can select multiple records with check boxes.
    If you change pages, you loose your selections it seems.....

    What I suggested overcomes that problem, assuming you consider changing pages and losing checked records a problem that is.

  14. #14
    Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,503

    Default Re: select multiple records with check boxes?

    Quote Originally Posted by clintg@erols.com
    If you change pages, you loose your selections it seems.....
    You might be right about that. That's why we need an explanation and descrition on how to do this.

  15. #15
    Member
    Real Name
    Denis Ahmet
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    986

    Default Re: select multiple records with check boxes?

    Hi Peter,

    I hope you are well.

    I am resurrecting an old a5v9 database. Did you get this working. If you have a coded page, I would love to see how.

    Thanks,

    Denis

Similar Threads

  1. Establishing Check Boxes
    By foxrocks in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-29-2005, 06:08 PM
  2. Check boxes in Forms
    By Charissa Antonelli in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-23-2005, 10:54 AM
  3. Report Check Boxes
    By RupertP in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-15-2002, 04:56 PM
  4. Check boxes
    By Ilesh Mistry in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-13-2001, 03:55 AM
  5. Check Boxes
    By bhphoto47 in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-26-2001, 12:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •