Get a Jumpstart with our Sample Apps
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Windows XP version of alpha

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    al
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    5

    Default Windows XP version of alpha

    Hello Everyone,
    I am new to this software at the school which I am the IT Coordinator. One of my dept's is on a Windows 98 pc (not SE from what I can tell), and using Alpha 4 version 6. Can someone tell em what Alpha release and version is needed for Windows XP? Also, how difficult will it be to import the user's current data into the new xp version and are there any known compatibility issues? Thank you very much,
    Conwell

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    5,832

    Default Re: Windows XP version of alpha

    I would call alpha with that question about running on xp. I know the windows versions will all run on xp. It seems like a4v7 and a4v8 will too, but would check with alpha software before purchasing.

    There wont be a huge upgrade to a4v7 or a4v8.

    Only the data will come to the windows versions(a5v7 - a5v8) with no problems. All the forms, reports, etc will have to be rebuilt from scratch. Progress!? It really is better.

    Dave

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Tim Chapin
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Windows XP version of alpha

    I use a4v8 with XP and works fine. I upgraded to a4v8 from a4v3 when purchasing a new pc that had XP a couple years ago. Th upgrade was fairly painless if I recall.

    Tim

  4. #4
    Alpha Software Employee AaronBBrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Aaron Brown
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Waltham, MA
    Posts
    2,836

    Default Re: Windows XP version of alpha

    XP requires A4v7 or A4v8. A4v6 is not XP compatible and can actually result in data corruption. If you want to upgrade to Alpha Five, you are best upgrading to the most recent version, A5v8.
    [FONT=Tahoma][SIZE=1][COLOR=Blue]Aaron Brown
    Alpha Software Development Team[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Steve Pick
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    340

    Default Re: Windows XP version of alpha

    Aaron, a long time ago I might have been able to answer this my self but can A4V6 be run from a DOS prompt.

    There is a free program called DOSBOX which apparently was written for gamers using the command line and I wondered if AV46 can be started from the command line instead of an icon in Windows. I did try this from DOSBOX in XP but got some error message and gave up my 2 minute effort.

    Steve

Similar Threads

  1. Version 6 To 8 WINDOWS PRO
    By Charles Hull in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-15-2004, 06:05 AM
  2. Alpha Five version 2.01 Windows ME
    By Dafydd Jones in forum Alpha Five Versions 2 and 3
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-13-2003, 03:19 PM
  3. upgrade from Alpha4v4 to newest Windows version
    By claire pfleger in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-02-2001, 08:42 AM
  4. Using Version 4 with Windows ME
    By Barbara Solt in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-06-2001, 03:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •