Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: A4V6 to A5 set links problem

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Greg Baxter
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    just NW of London England UK
    Posts
    5

    Default A4V6 to A5 set links problem

    Hi all,

    I've been using A4 for many years and built a number of applications for my company, one of which was a divisional breakdown for wages costings.
    In A4 the main imput set consisted of 2 databases 1.Week and 2.Hour (there are monthly ones but this will suffice as an example.

    The three main linking fields in A4 were TCM_EMP_NO, WEEK_NO & TAX_YR_END. The primary record entered into the week database would link to all the minutes spent on different divisions for a week period for each individual employee, thus Week and Year references were required as the years went by to avoid the wrong records in the child table linking to the parent.

    After entering the employee number, week number and year number (all numerical fields) in the week db part of the entry form and then tabbing down to the hour table would alow entry for all that weeks time split details.

    Worked like a charm for years and with basic reports would result in single entry into the payroll and accounts programs for each employee giving "to the minute" divisional labour splits.

    BUT! conversion to A5 PROBLEM!!!
    Copied the 2 DBs (and an emloyee Db used as a lookup) made Week the primay and tried to use a 1 to many link as I had in A4. The common field/expression in A4 was:-
    str(TCM_EMP_NO,3,0)+str(WEEK_NO,2,0)+str(TAX_YR_END,2,0)
    I have tried numerous ways to vary this in A5, bit it results in an error message.

    Wth Just fields added it results in a link that sums the field values and picks up records that match the total!
    This must be basic stuff but it has me baffled at the moment!
    This is my 1st time on the board, I'm from accross the Pond, your help would be much appreciated.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    24,993

    Default Re: A4V6 to A5 set links problem

    Do you feel like sharing the error message or is that sensitive information.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Greg Baxter
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    just NW of London England UK
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: A4V6 to A5 set links problem

    no problem but will have to recreate the set links. I will do this and post the error message on this thread in the morning. Thanks for coming back. Greg.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    24,993

    Default Re: A4V6 to A5 set links problem

    Quote Originally Posted by gregtcm View Post
    no problem but will have to recreate the set links. I will do this and post the error message on this thread in the morning. Thanks for coming back. Greg.
    I just created what I think you described and had no problems. If you download the attachment, unzip it to a directory separate from your application and add it to your database or create a new database in that directory for examination.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Greg Baxter
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    just NW of London England UK
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: A4V6 to A5 set links problem

    Morning Stan,
    This is a bit embarrassing! During recreation of the set links this morning I suffered a Homer Simpson moment. Too many years of Excel spreadsheet design have taken their toll, expressions do not have to start with a "=", Doh!
    Bet I won't make that mistake again.

    However, in A4, this link would still allow cascading changes and deletes (and with a prompt, which was useful as users would pass the question on to others if they weren't sure rather than just deleting child records. Not so much in this Set, but certainly in others). Is there any way to do this in A5?

    Thanks for your help.

    Greg.

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    24,993

    Default Re: A4V6 to A5 set links problem

    That's a setting in the link definition, referential integrity.

Similar Threads

  1. Too many links in a set
    By Daniel King in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-19-2003, 12:56 PM
  2. Set links misbehave
    By Stephen Williams in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-07-2002, 07:34 AM
  3. Many to many links in a set, I think?
    By BDennis in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-03-2001, 11:31 AM
  4. Set Links don't work??
    By Bob Kieffer in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-06-2001, 04:26 PM
  5. set design and links
    By E Jaffe in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-09-2000, 10:17 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •