Alpha DevCon 2018
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 31 to 33 of 33

Thread: Make an exe to run alpha app

  1. #31
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ray in Capetown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ray Hendler
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    2,036

    Default Re: Make an exe to run alpha app

    I get it,
    I was linking this with your previous advice on packaging an app for distribution.
    Nice idea both for nosy IT personnel, and simpler desktop icon
    Would it allow for different drive letters for server at each client/terminal/remote, do you think?

  2. #32
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    5,857

    Default Re: Make an exe to run alpha app

    Ray,

    I have not tried that, but am sure it could be done. I suspect that the drive letter would need to be designated somewhere. Since I use shadowed almost exclusively and the path for the data is in the shadowed, I have never had reason to explore what you ask. I also don't like using drive letters and prefer a path like "\\servername\folder\adbname.adb\
    That way, all is compatible.
    A couple of my clients prefer drive letters due to their IT. I made sure they knew to create all drive letters the same. They all use the letter L:
    Last edited by DaveM; 01-27-2015 at 01:41 PM.
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldaweb.com

    Skype is dave.mason46

  3. #33
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    5,857

    Default Re: Make an exe to run alpha app

    This is the current iteration I used for a new application about to go into sales.

    Code:
    Private Sub Form_Load()
    Dim tpath
    tpath = CurDir + "\alpha5.exe " + CurDir + "\pw\mypwds.adb " + "-ICON=mypwds2.ico" + " -NOMINMAX" + " -NOSYSMENU" + "-NOSPLASH" + " NODEBUG" + " -NODBCHECK" + " -NOSPLASH" + " -TITLE=MyPasswords by ALDA Consulting 352-302-2015"
    
    c = Shell(tpath, 3)
    End
    End Sub
    Astrum installer is set to allow the user to install to any path and drive, so it was needed to change a bit of this code. The imbedded icon works wherever a shortcut is set up on a desktop. User shortcut is standard xp3-win10 that they would do for any application and would go to the name of the complied exe. This one is compiled as mypwds.exe.

    v12 runtime and the app are packaged together and in and installer exe file. If the user chooses m:\xyz it will be installed there, but if user places it on \\severname\g:\mystuff it will be installed there. The shortcut is built wherever the app is installed from of course.

    As far as the runtime, I send a copy of mine. No big install to it. I do run the other stuff as needed like bat, dll, msi, etc by way of the installer. If the application requires it, I send registry settings.
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldaweb.com

    Skype is dave.mason46

Similar Threads

  1. Runtime will not install and run app - help?
    By DaveM in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 05:08 PM
  2. How can I make this function run quicker
    By Graham Wickens in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-01-2007, 09:00 AM
  3. If app is created in Win98 can it run in XP?
    By bvrocker in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-17-2007, 01:30 PM
  4. Run Time App
    By Lanny Tonning in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-04-2005, 05:43 PM
  5. Launching my app from a5init.exe
    By Tom Kelly in forum Alpha Five Version 1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-05-2003, 08:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •