Get a Jumpstart with our Sample Apps
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: checkbox list box and multi-select listbox on a form

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Geoff Meredith
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    637

    Default checkbox list box and multi-select listbox on a form

    Can you have these controls on a form? If so how do you implement them? I have searched the board and Alpha help but cannot find anything. Although I have learnt that doesn't mean it doesn't exist just that I have failed to use the right term when searching.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    24,697

    Default Re: checkbox list box and multi-select listbox on a form

    Hidden in the .chm under

    Check Box - List Box (Form)

    Check Box Control (Form)

    Multiple Selection

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Geoff Meredith
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    637

    Default Re: checkbox list box and multi-select listbox on a form

    Stan - I found those but they open a dialog box. It isn't a control on a form. Is it possible to have these controls on a form?

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    24,697

    Default Re: checkbox list box and multi-select listbox on a form

    It seems you are asking how to tie a check box list box or a multi-select listbox to a form field representing a table field. I don't think that makes any sense because you can only store one value in a field. Those two controls allow multiple selection.

    Try creating a variable for your form and setting its type to one of them.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Geoff Meredith
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    637

    Default Re: checkbox list box and multi-select listbox on a form

    Stan - I think I must be missing something (probably brain cells:)).

    example

    I have a form with a layout variable called my_choices which is placed on the form.

    How do I make this a multi-select listbox?

    When you click on the variable properties and choose control type the multi-select list box isn't one of the options. See the second picture in the above post for the list of options available.

    Just to clarify - I do not want a dialog to appear and then make the choices from the dialog. I would like it on the form (embedded).

    Any chance you can post an example or guide?

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    24,697

    Default Re: checkbox list box and multi-select listbox on a form

    Your first screenshot shows a dialog titled

    Demonstration of Different Control Styles

    This is not the same as a context sensitive list of options available for every field that you get when you use the smart button just to the right of the form field properties editor.

    Apparently you cannot use the two styles you have indicated as I thought you might. I know you don't want an xdialog but I don't know why. My attachment illustrates a technique that should make the process user friendly.

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    john linley
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    englewood cliffs, nj
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: checkbox list box and multi-select listbox on a form

    RE: checkbox list boxes: A different check-list variation

    I would like to create a single button that can be used on any form that, when pushed, displays a list of other frequently used forms with an attached check list box. The first box checked would immediately open the form.
    Multiple choices would not be allowed.

    All forms to open (approximately 12) are in the same adb.

    The user will " X check" which form he or she wants to open. This would be similar to a "switch" menu in A4. If it makes more sense to just use a list box, that would be fine also.

    Can this be accomplished in action scripting? I searched for an example, but did not find anything close enough to point me in the right direction.

    Will appreciate any help,

    John Linley

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    24,697

    Default Re: checkbox list box and multi-select listbox on a form

    A check box list box is designed to allow multiple selections so I don't think that is the best control choice for you.

    Sounds like you want a button opened xdialog displaying a listbox of all forms. You could either hard code the list or use A5.FORM_ENUM().

    Try the attachment.

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Geoff Meredith
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    637

    Default Re: checkbox list box and multi-select listbox on a form

    Stan - Thanks for confirming it isn't possible to use the multi-select list quite the way I wanted. To answer the question of why I do not like the dialog I guess it is down to personal preference. I wanted to use the multi-select as I quick way of filtering a browse. One example would be that you could select several states and see only sales from those states. I know there are other ways of achieving this but I liked the idea of the multi-select list embedded in the form for quickness. To be fair to Alpha I think it would be possible in version 9 as I'm sure I read that you can now embed xdialog into the forms. Unfortunately V10 will probably be released before the funds are available for the upgrade.

    Thanks again for your help its always appreciated.

    Geoff

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    john linley
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    englewood cliffs, nj
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: checkbox list box and multi-select listbox on a form

    Stan;
    Regret to admit that I either don't know how to open your attachment or,
    I don't have the right tool. I tried notepad, workpad, word and none of these opened it.
    Could you email it to me, linley.j5@gmail.com. ? Sorry to be a bother, but I would like to look at it.

    Thanks, john linley

  11. #11
    Member
    Real Name
    Geoff Meredith
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    637

    Default Re: checkbox list box and multi-select listbox on a form

    John,

    It is a a compressed file. You need to use winzip or winrar to uncompress it. Inside you will find database files.

    Alpha has unzip capabilities so you could also use it to unzip the file.

    For example


    Either attach this to a button onpush event or use the code editor-interactive

    Code:
    unzip_files("c:\stevesample.zip", "*.*", "c:\unzip")
    Naturally you will need to change the location (path) if it isn't c:\ and the destination if you don't want it to be c:\unzip.

    Hope it helps.

    Geoff

  12. #12
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    24,697

    Default Re: checkbox list box and multi-select listbox on a form

    Quote Originally Posted by john linley View Post
    Stan;
    Regret to admit that I either don't know how to open your attachment or,
    I don't have the right tool. I tried notepad, workpad, word and none of these opened it.
    Could you email it to me, linley.j5@gmail.com. ? Sorry to be a bother, but I would like to look at it.

    Thanks, john linley
    I think Geoff should have you going but I emailed them as well.

Similar Threads

  1. Select all items in multi-select list box by default
    By Jay Talbott in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-02-2012, 07:27 PM
  2. Multi select list box
    By Bill Parker in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-16-2007, 12:28 PM
  3. multi-select list box and filter
    By Ray Farland in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-15-2005, 05:11 AM
  4. multi-select list box question
    By davidv43 in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-03-2004, 07:55 AM
  5. Multi-Select List Box
    By Louis Nickerson in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-30-2003, 05:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •