Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Memo field does not fully print data

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Tom Westmoreland
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Auburn, Alabama
    Posts
    12

    Default Memo field does not fully print data

    We recently transferred our data/fields from Alpha 4V6 to 5V9.
    All the data transferred - but when I created a new form using a memo field (this one is for directions to a client's home) only part of it prints out. I can scroll down and see that all the data is in the field, but only a small part shows up on the screen, and that small part also only prints. I tried to "fit size it" and that made it worse - I would also like to learn how to undo the fit size I did. Thanks, Tom

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    24,833

    Default Re: Memo field does not fully print data

    I created a new form using a memo field (this one is for directions to a client's home) only part of it prints out
    I believe that you will find that reports, labels, and letters are better suited to printing. Forms are desgined to be viewed on screen.

    The good news is that you can import your form into a new blank report and tweak that.
    There can be only one.

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,429

    Default Re: Memo field does not fully print data

    Quote Originally Posted by westmth View Post
    We recently transferred our data/fields from Alpha 4V6 to 5V9.
    All the data transferred - but when I created a new form using a memo field (this one is for directions to a client's home) only part of it prints out. I can scroll down and see that all the data is in the field, but only a small part shows up on the screen, and that small part also only prints. I tried to "fit size it" and that made it worse - I would also like to learn how to undo the fit size I did. Thanks, Tom
    Printing should be done from a report.

    You can create a new blank report and then import the form onto the report. The printing will work much better..

    Once the new report is open use the menu - report - import - form
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Tom Westmoreland
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Auburn, Alabama
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Memo field does not fully print data

    I tried to import the form I created into a new blank report so I could tweak it - but I couldn't figure out how to do that - how to import the form. Any more suggestions. Many thanks, Tom

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    24,833

    Default Re: Memo field does not fully print data

    Report menu. Choose Form, specify which form by selecting one.
    There can be only one.

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Tom Westmoreland
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Auburn, Alabama
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Memo field does not fully print data

    Dear Stan:
    What you sent was very helpful. Many thanks. Tom

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Bill Belanger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Caribou Maine
    Posts
    1,053

    Default Re: Memo field does not fully print data

    I imported the sample export contacts form (with the "notes" memo field added) into a report. The allow growth when printing is greyed out.

    Does anyone know if we can expand the memo field in a web component on printing?

    Thanks
    Bill Belanger

Similar Threads

  1. Memo field won't print in report
    By Larry Ternowski in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-03-2004, 06:44 AM
  2. Print Record Including Memo Field
    By Dennis Hughes in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-20-2004, 01:07 AM
  3. Data in memo field dissapearing
    By Richard Wheeler in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 62
    Last Post: 11-20-2003, 09:51 AM
  4. Memo Field Not Holding Data
    By Alan Lucas in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-03-2003, 07:07 AM
  5. Memo field losses data
    By Richard Melancon in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-30-2003, 09:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •