Get a Jumpstart with our Sample Apps
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Can not create a Grid - hc.object.Refresh method not found

  1. #1
    Member Steve T's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steven Taylor
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia.
    Posts
    26

    Default Can not create a Grid - hc.object.Refresh method not found

    Okay, it's late Saturday night and I decided to follow the "Alpha Five Web Applications: The Tutorial" which was kindly emailed to me a few weeks ago.

    Anyway, I've followed the initial example to the letter (I believe), created a connection to the sample Northwest.mdb; the connection test succeeded.

    Per the tutorial, I'm attempting to create a grid control, selecting 'Read only Grid (SQL)' mode. On selecting "OK" Alpha Five returns two error messages (see attachments) along the lines of "hc.object.Refresh method not found". I can't progress until this is resolved.

    I'm running Windows Vista, home version. Any clues please?
    Steve
    Alphafive V10

  2. #2
    Member Steve T's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steven Taylor
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia.
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: Can not create a Grid - hc.object.Refresh method not found

    Further. When attempting to create a grid control (or dialog), using the read only (sql) template (or from blank) I receive two error messages as already indicated.

    I've just noticed that a tab, at bottom of the Alpha window, is created, labelled, "Grid Builder <Untitled>". There is no associated form or window for this tab click. See attached image.

    Any clues please?
    Last edited by Steve T; 01-09-2010 at 08:09 PM. Reason: spelling
    Steve
    Alphafive V10

  3. #3
    Member Steve T's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steven Taylor
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia.
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: Can not create a Grid - hc.object.Refresh method not found

    Anyone?
    Steve
    Alphafive V10

  4. #4
    Member dickerman7239's Avatar
    Real Name
    Kim Dickerman
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    92

    Default Re: Can not create a Grid - hc.object.Refresh method not found

    Steve,
    Just saw your post and it appears there has been no response... I personally hate when that happens to me. Have you tried to create a grid using a dbf template rather than sql? I believe the tutorials use the native Alpha db, not sql, which may be why it errors in find the table.

    Good luck on this - Kim
    Kim Dickerman

  5. #5
    Member Steve T's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steven Taylor
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia.
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: Can not create a Grid - hc.object.Refresh method not found

    Thanks Kim. Unfortunately, changing to dbf doesn't change things. Per the tutorial, it's the Northwind database (Northwind.mdb) that is used. I can successfully connect to the database, via the 'test connection' button.

    At this stage I'm stumped.
    Steve
    Alphafive V10

  6. #6
    Member Steve T's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steven Taylor
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia.
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: Can not create a Grid - hc.object.Refresh method not found

    I'm still stumped (shameless way to bump this message).

    Strange in a way. I'm currently devoting most of my time to the desktop application, coming to grips with Xdialog. Xbasic seems to be similar in many ways to VBA and Real Basic and therefore is not mysterious. I only looked at the web side of things as a distraction to the desktop, something different, and now I have this little problem (grid control not the playing the game) which is annoying the hell out of me.
    Steve
    Alphafive V10

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Christopher Garside
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sabah, Malaysia
    Posts
    138

    Default Re: Can not create a Grid - hc.object.Refresh method not found

    Hi Steve,

    Mine tests okay too.

    If you get the error immediately on selecting 'New Grid', then I would suggest that it has nothing to do with your datasource, but rather with your alpha installation/build.

    Have you got the latest build?

    Cheers
    Chris

  8. #8
    Member Steve T's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steven Taylor
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia.
    Posts
    26

    Default [Solved] Re: Can not create a Grid - hc.object.Refresh method not found

    Well this is a little bit embarrassing (sort of). The grid builder was being opened and displayed, after the error messages, it's just that the grid builder window was off-screen, that is, not visible, had to use the horizontal scroll bar to scroll left to bring the grid builder into view.

    Obviously, what was very frustrating is that clicking on the bottom tab referring to the untitled grid builder did not bring the grid builder window into view, though it received the focus. From a user's point of view, it simply wasn't there.

    What's even more frustrating is that I'm not short on screen real estate. I've got two 22" screens and Alpha 5 v10 is maximised in one.

    The error messages still persist and I've got no idea what effect they have, if any, as I was able to continue with the tutorial and see the grid in action.

    As regards Alpha 5 v10 installation and setup, everything appears correct and I've got the latest build, 2659 / 3515.

    Now that I'm aware of this behaviour, hopefully it shouldn't catch me out again.
    Steve
    Alphafive V10

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Christopher Garside
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sabah, Malaysia
    Posts
    138

    Default Re: Can not create a Grid - hc.object.Refresh method not found

    Been there done that, no worries!:)

Similar Threads

  1. 500 error dump method not found
    By EricN in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-17-2009, 07:44 PM
  2. Post() method in caninsertrecord in grid
    By EricN in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-22-2008, 03:22 PM
  3. Browse resynch/refresh - proper method?
    By Peter.Greulich in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 07-17-2007, 11:19 AM
  4. OBJECT.REFRESH() NOT FOUND
    By scott nicholas in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-05-2005, 11:15 AM
  5. incorrect data type, method not found errors
    By W. Horton in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-29-2002, 05:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •