Alpha DevCon 2018

Thread: Insert Parent, children and grand children - how to

Real Name
    Rick G.

Default Insert Parent, children and grand children - how to

Hi All,
    I not sure I understand how alpha handles this normal issue. I am new to Alpha 5 but have coded for a long time. I have 3 tables, a customer tbl, an address tbl and a contact tbl. The Customer will have an address and the address wil have a contact for that addr (parent child grand child) There will be a default address for a customer for eacj type (billing, shipping etc but there could be multiples of the same type ie.. many locations, same with contacts a default and then many contacts at that address. tbl name and key fields -

Cust Address Contact
    PK_Cust PK_Addr PK_Cntct
    FK_Cust FK_Addr

Is there a complete example of how this would work, use a add only form for the Cust then in the afterinsert pop up the children? link?

Thanks!

Real Name
    Rick G.

Default Re: Insert Parent, children and grand children - how to

Sorry the table structures did show right..

Cust:
    PK_Cust

Addr:
    PK_Addr
    FK_Cust

Cntct:
    PK_Cntct
    FK_Addr

thanks!!

Real Name
    Bob Senski

Unhappy Re: Insert Parent, children and grand children - how to

Zeke,
    The short answer is no. I personally floated this several times along with others, not within a single grid or with a linked grid in a single view. You would have to step through linked grids starting with the top parent and then work your way through the child grids. This would mean retrieving the newly created primary key and passing it in a variable to the child records as the linking field.

You could find many complicated work a rounds. You can do all kinds of brain twisting things in the grid events code. But you can't straight, up add multiple new related records very easily.

I have asked the Wizard behind the curtain to take a look at this as you say, "normal issue." It is a missing flight in the alpha staircase.