Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Fix the SQL query parser and these 'Could not parse' messages

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Scott
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Toronto,ON
    Posts
    1,030

    Default Fix the SQL query parser and these 'Could not parse' messages

    SELECT DISTINCT CONCAT(invoice_fee_description, IF(fee_charge>0,CONCAT(' ($',fee_charge,')'),'')) fee_code FROM fee WHERE fee_type='DELIVERY' ORDER BY invoice_fee_description, fee_code

    Is perfectly valid, but your parser gives me:
    Could not parse the SQL select statement for the choices in field: fee_id


    THe statement is fine - looks like i have to create a view and base the dropdown off that.

    I have had to work around this bad parsing many many times.
    It is very frustrating - just let the sql statement go through to the database without your code trying to (badly) verify it - if it doesnt work - my fault.
    There have been many times where using nested selects, or functions in the statement doesnt work
    Scott Moniz - Computer Programmer/Analyst
    REA Inc.
    http://reainc.net
    (416)-533-3777
    scott@reainc.net

    REA INC offers consulting services, programming services, systems design, database design, third party payment gateway integration (CHASE, PAYPAL, AUTHORIZE.NET) and developer support.
    If you need custom code, or 1-to-1 mentoring in any facet of your database/web application design,
    contact us to discuss options.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,428

    Default Re: Fix the SQL query parser and these 'Could not parse' messages

    Can you choose the option for stored procedure? I don't think the SQL code is parsed then.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Scott
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Toronto,ON
    Posts
    1,030

    Default Re: Fix the SQL query parser and these 'Could not parse' messages

    Im not sure where this option is.
    Remember: I am using the dropdown 'Choices' in dynamic mode.

    It's fine, I have it working.
    Its just annoying and redudant to have to create a view, when i can already just do a select from the current table and use 1 mysql if statement.
    But because of alpha, i need to create a view and base the dropdown on the view.
    Scott Moniz - Computer Programmer/Analyst
    REA Inc.
    http://reainc.net
    (416)-533-3777
    scott@reainc.net

    REA INC offers consulting services, programming services, systems design, database design, third party payment gateway integration (CHASE, PAYPAL, AUTHORIZE.NET) and developer support.
    If you need custom code, or 1-to-1 mentoring in any facet of your database/web application design,
    contact us to discuss options.

Similar Threads

  1. Edit Grid SQL Query without Query Builder
    By christappan in forum Archived Wishlist
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-15-2011, 11:58 AM
  2. Query multible records the query against sql
    By steve745 in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-10-2010, 06:42 AM
  3. Could not parse SQL statement
    By pja67 in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-10-2010, 11:31 PM
  4. Disabling query messages..
    By Jeff Klages in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-28-2003, 01:26 PM
  5. Request: Stricter Parser
    By Blake in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-27-2003, 02:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •