Get a Jumpstart with our Sample Apps
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Help Icon in Freeform Layout?

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,930

    Default Help Icon in Freeform Layout?

    Is there a video or does someone know how to include the Help Topic icon into a Freeform Layout?
    Regards
    Keith Hubert
    Alpha Guild Member
    London.
    KHDB Management Systems
    Skype = keith.hubert


    For your day-to-day Needs, you Need an Alpha Database!

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Jim Coltz
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Western Pennsylvania
    Posts
    596

    Default Re: Help Icon in Freeform Layout?

    Probably more than one way to do this. I put the help button on the grid's toolbar then ran the grid in Firefox and used firebug to pull the html for the button out and then copied that html into the freeform region. The html looked like this
    Code:
    <img style="cursor:pointer;" title="Open help window." src="images/$$generic.help.png.a5image" onclick="GRID1_GridObj.showGridHelp('Test');">
    It worked.
    Jim Coltz
    Alpha Custom Database Solutions, LLC
    A5CustomSolutions.com
    jimcoltz@a5customsolutions.com

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,930

    Default Re: Help Icon in Freeform Layout?

    Hi Jim,

    Thanks for your code.

    Is 'Test' the name of your help file? I'm talking about the A5helptable.dbf which gets created when you use the built in help. (see screen shot)
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Regards
    Keith Hubert
    Alpha Guild Member
    London.
    KHDB Management Systems
    Skype = keith.hubert


    For your day-to-day Needs, you Need an Alpha Database!

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Jim Coltz
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Western Pennsylvania
    Posts
    596

    Default Re: Help Icon in Freeform Layout?

    Test was the name of the help ID in the help table.
    Jim Coltz
    Alpha Custom Database Solutions, LLC
    A5CustomSolutions.com
    jimcoltz@a5customsolutions.com

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,930

    Default Re: Help Icon in Freeform Layout?

    That makes sense to me now, thanks Jim.
    Regards
    Keith Hubert
    Alpha Guild Member
    London.
    KHDB Management Systems
    Skype = keith.hubert


    For your day-to-day Needs, you Need an Alpha Database!

Similar Threads

  1. Freeform layout not right.
    By RMarmion in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-12-2010, 08:12 AM
  2. Tabular Grid Freeform Layout
    By NormanMouton in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-31-2009, 06:06 PM
  3. using freeform layout in Grid Control
    By DOntquIT in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-03-2008, 05:18 AM
  4. Freeform layout with image
    By dancing.sphinx in forum Application Server Version 9 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-01-2008, 01:17 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •