Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How to sense change in calculation field

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Dave Mac Callum
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Johannesburg. South Africa
    Posts
    380

    Default How to sense change in calculation field

    Hi there,

    I need to detect any change in a calculation filed. In this case it is vmode.

    How would i do this ?

    Looking forward
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Dave Mac

    It's not so much what you don't know that gets you into trouble, but what you know for sure, that just ain't so. - Mark Twain.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    24,844

    Default Re: How to sense change in calculation field

    A calculated field changes when one of the components of the calculation expression changes.
    There can be only one.

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ray in Capetown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ray Hendler
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    2,036

    Default Re: How to sense change in calculation field

    Then all you need is to include a UDF call as part of the calculation (OR have the calculation in a UDF)
    and in that UDF do the detect.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Dave Mac Callum
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Johannesburg. South Africa
    Posts
    380

    Default Re: How to sense change in calculation field

    Thanks for the replies, Guys.

    I was hoping that to get hold of whatever fires my vmode (parentform.mode_get()) alteration.

    UDF implies that I need to invoke it. I that correct ?

    Looking forward
    Dave Mac

    It's not so much what you don't know that gets you into trouble, but what you know for sure, that just ain't so. - Mark Twain.

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,310

    Default Re: How to sense change in calculation field

    What if you changed the color equation for the calc field to display red on white when parentform.mode_get()="CHANGE" and do the same for when the condition = "ENTER"?
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ray in Capetown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ray Hendler
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    2,036

    Default Re: How to sense change in calculation field

    Dave
    Here is your sample back. I no longer need it. Can I get a refund?
    Try this out - it runs a simple sample UDF as explained #3.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ray in Capetown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ray Hendler
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    2,036

    Default Re: How to sense change in calculation field

    Dave, does that do what you requested?

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,310

    Default Re: How to sense change in calculation field

    Hi Ray,
    That works but could get pretty annoying real fast!
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ray in Capetown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ray Hendler
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    2,036

    Default Re: How to sense change in calculation field

    Quote Originally Posted by MoGrace View Post
    Hi Ray,
    That works but could get pretty annoying real fast!
    It was the most annoying I could muster in such a short time. I suppose I could've put beep in a loop, now THAT would be annoying.

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    Dave Mac Callum
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Johannesburg. South Africa
    Posts
    380

    Default Re: How to sense change in calculation field

    Hi Guys,

    Apologies for not getting back a little sooner - Internet giving me a bit of a run around.

    Many thanks for your input. Works well. In fact, have ended up with overchoice, which is always
    good to have. Was not aware that one could go and mess with Calculated Fields. Gives one
    a bit more power

    Have a good one
    Dave Mac

    It's not so much what you don't know that gets you into trouble, but what you know for sure, that just ain't so. - Mark Twain.

Similar Threads

  1. Change Child Grid Field Value when Change Parent Field Value ?
    By ferryk in forum Mobile & Browser Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-13-2015, 08:36 AM
  2. Making sense of Fetch_Last
    By glbaird in forum Alpha Five Version 10 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-30-2010, 08:14 PM
  3. Order Makes No Sense
    By jpayne in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-28-2008, 10:17 AM
  4. cannot sense change mode
    By Dave Mac Callum in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-02-2007, 02:00 AM
  5. how to let a calculation field change?
    By Fator Wong in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-21-2004, 06:32 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •