Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Alpha4 under 64 bit Windows

  1. #1
    Real Name
    Paul Verboom
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

    Default Alpha4 under 64 bit Windows

    Some of those looking for a method to run Alpha4 under newer 64 bit versions of windows (for example Windows 10) have tried using vDos. vDos is a DOS emulator designed to run business applications under the newest Windows Operating Systems. Originally vDos would not run many version of Alpha4 because it did not supply math co-processor emulation.

    The author of vDos has released a new version of vDos 2017.08.01 that added a FPU (Floating-point unit) to the emulated CPU.

    I have tested vDos version 2017.08.01 and it will run Alpha4 Version 6 under windows 7 64 bit quit well. It should support Alpha4 version 7 and 8 as well.

    What a walk down memory lane.

    Learn about vDos at

  2. #2
    Real Name
    Doug Allison
    Join Date
    Aug 2007

    Default Re: Alpha4 under 64 bit Windows

    I'll add that, in my experience, vDos indeed seems to work well with A4V8 in Windows 10. I have one application that I haven't yet translated to A5, so I've had to jump through a few hoops to continue to use it. I can even print with vDos - something that wasn't possible with DOSBox.

    There's a version of vDos with more functionality, called vDosPlus: However, although A4V8 displayed with the original colors, it hung, which I attribute to a problem with how it handles memory. (Just a guess and I could be wrong.) I haven't taken time to tinker with it further since vDos seems to do the trick.

    I can even run WordStar - and those old control-key commands came right back, just like riding a bike.


  3. #3
    Real Name
    Jack Birnbaum
    Join Date
    Jun 2000

    Default Re: Alpha4 under 64 bit Windows

    The latest release (09/16) also works with a4 networked data. Multi-user shared database and file locking is now supported. We are running alpha4v7 in Windows 10, 64 bit without issues.

Similar Threads

  1. Alpha4 Version 6 under 64 bit Windows
    By pboomwork in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-06-2017, 11:12 PM
  2. Alpha4 v7 compatable with Windows 7
    By dsears36 in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-27-2010, 05:27 PM
  3. Alpha4 and Windows XP
    By Ronald Anusiewicz in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-30-2002, 02:55 PM
  4. ALPHA4 in windows 98
    By stuart messinger in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-13-2001, 03:13 PM
  5. moving alpha4.2 for Dos to Windows 98
    By Brian Harding in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-24-2001, 09:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts