Alpha DevCon 2018

Thread: Embedded Browse - go to Latest Record

Real Name
    David Abbott

Default Embedded Browse - go to Latest Record

Members,

I am an amateur user, and can normally work out a way (mostly trial and error!) on how to solve a problem. I've spend a good deal of time on this, so I thought best to ask if there is a solution that I just can't seem to find.

I have a set and within this is a one-to-many embedded browse which holds transactions for the particular person. Some records now have many dozens of transactions, and when moving to any particular record, the embedded browse always shows the earliest transaction. It then means scrolling down, as it is the latest ones that I normally want to look at. I've added a couple or screen shots to show what I mean.

Any suggestions please?
    Attached Images Attached Images

"Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews

Default Re: Embedded Browse - go to Latest Record

See the AlphaSports invoice form. There's a button on the form (Bottom) with the code

browse1.fetch_last()
    browse1.activate()
    There can be only one.

Real Name
    David Abbott

Thanks, Stan.

I've added the buttons I need and it works fine - apart from me needing to change the AlphaSports coding to, for example, from browse1.fetch_last() to Control_browse1.fetch_last().

I was thinking the wrong question, in that I was looking for the active record in the embedded browse to be the latest by default, and effecting this was my difficulty taking account of my limited knowledge/expertise in coding (though A5 has enabled me to do more than I expected over the years). Using a single mouse click is not a hardship at all compared with having to scroll though numerous lines in the browse.
    Last edited by Esio Trot; 12-17-2017 at 07:45 AM. Reason: Typo

Real Name
    Alan Buchholz

David