Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Error Message - Define Calc. Fields

  1. #1
    Member Elke's Avatar
    Real Name
    Elke Barghoorn
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    338

    Default Error Message - Define Calc. Fields

    I have found a few bad calculated fields that were created years ago and am trying to either delete of fix them. The first issue is that it takes about 20 minutes (Task Mgr states Alpha is not responding but it is). Second, when I have finally fixed the field rule, I get the following message

    Script:UI_DLG_BOX:Define Calculated Fields line 216
    a5_rereferencefields(obj, OldFieldNormalized,NewFieldsNormalized,"",rena
    Arguement is incorrect data type

    I press OK, and it seems to save, but what does the error mean?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Alpha Software Employee AaronBBrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Aaron Brown
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Waltham, MA
    Posts
    2,836

    Default RE: Error Message - Define Calc. Fields

    Can you send me the table/layout that the bad calculated field is on so I can debug the problem?

  3. #3
    Member Elke's Avatar
    Real Name
    Elke Barghoorn
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    338

    Default RE: Error Message - Define Calc. Fields

    I am STILL getting this error message but do not have any bad calculated fields, see attached.

    Aaron, I sent you the table/layout on 2/1 & again on 2/3, haven't heard anything yet...

  4. #4
    Alpha Software Employee AaronBBrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Aaron Brown
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Waltham, MA
    Posts
    2,836

    Default RE: Error Message - Define Calc. Fields

    I apologize for not getting back to you. I'll do my best to look at it today.

  5. #5
    Alpha Software Employee AaronBBrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Aaron Brown
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Waltham, MA
    Posts
    2,836

    Default RE: Error Message - Define Calc. Fields

    Elke. There are NO layouts in the example you sent me. What do I need to do to reproduce this problem?

  6. #6
    Member Elke's Avatar
    Real Name
    Elke Barghoorn
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    338

    Default RE: Error Message - Define Calc. Fields

    The calculated fields are in the set named bad_calc. Open the set, then fix the "bad" calculated fields and then save.

Similar Threads

  1. Define Calculated Fields Screen issue?
    By peterg000 in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-08-2005, 11:43 AM
  2. Calc field based on calc fields
    By Stan Mathews in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-10-2003, 08:48 AM
  3. Speed of global calc fields vs layout calc fields
    By russ Boehle in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-27-2001, 11:29 AM
  4. Calc Fields
    By Jerry Hartness in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-22-2001, 02:56 PM
  5. Use a loop to define fields?
    By Bill Warner in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-03-2000, 04:13 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •