Get a Jumpstart with our Sample Apps
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Define Calculated Fields Screen issue?

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Glenn Peterson
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cape Coral, FL
    Posts
    403

    Default Define Calculated Fields Screen issue?

    Is there soemthing im missing with the calculated Fields screen? I define a calculated field .... save it just fine ..... come back in to add some others ... now the previous one show <invalid expression> errors and I cant figure out why.

    Another time, I come in to fields that have been defined and saved just fine ..... change one character in the calc field, and again, <invalid expression>

    I dont think its the expressions themselves otherwise they probably wouldnt save fine to begin with ....

    Any help would be great ...

    By the way .... one of the cal fields is
    if(alltrim(c_rptcat1)="4",0-total(vr_mbalance,GRP->Cat1),total(vr_mbalance,GRP->Cat1))
    I just try and change the grp to cat2 instead of cat1 and I get <invalid expression>

    Glenn

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Scott Emerick's Avatar
    Real Name
    Scott Emerick
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Central Virginia/ North Carolina Border
    Posts
    2,154

    Default

    Glenn,

    When ever you have a expression that uses a value that is derived from values on a form this will happen.

    For example, in your expression you are using the total() function. In order for the expression to be valid, the form needs to load with the records that make up the Grp->Cat1 data.

    If your calculated field is returning the correct result, then I would ignore the <invalid expression> error.

    Scott

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Glenn Peterson
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cape Coral, FL
    Posts
    403

    Default

    Thanks scott .... but how do I now get past <invalid expression> ... it wont let me save with errors. is there an setting somewhere that allows saves with errors?

    Glenn

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic Scott Emerick's Avatar
    Real Name
    Scott Emerick
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Central Virginia/ North Carolina Border
    Posts
    2,154

    Default

    Glen,

    The only way around it that I have found is to delete the field and use the dragdrop list to create it again. Its a pain, but if you cut and paste, outside of you entering the name of the field again, it will let you save it.

    Scott

Similar Threads

  1. RTF merge issue with number fields
    By David Day in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-10-2005, 03:57 PM
  2. Error Message - Define Calc. Fields
    By Elke in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-02-2005, 07:05 AM
  3. Screen display issue
    By scottly in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-29-2004, 03:59 AM
  4. Calculated Fields vs. Calculated Field Rule
    By Rhett Scott in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-07-2002, 05:58 AM
  5. Use a loop to define fields?
    By Bill Warner in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-03-2000, 05:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •