Get a Jumpstart with our Sample Apps
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 31

Thread: browse element row height change ... how?

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Dave Martens
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    75

    Default browse element row height change ... how?

    Hi,

    I am constructing a form containing a browse element. I have run into a surprising problem - I somehow changed the row height for each row of the browse to be some really small value. Maybe, 1 or 2 pixel?!

    Unfortunately, I can't figure out how to change the row height back (or to anything else for that matter).

    I can see that the browse object has a row_height property, and I suspect I could set that value on an "on init" event, but that would be a kludge.

    Any advice would be appreciated
    Dave

    P.S. Column width can be easily set, interestingly.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    24,698

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    Row height should be adujstable by dragging the row separator just as column width is adjustable similarly. May be tedious trying to position the cursor on it.

    I have accidentally drug the row separator causing too small a height myself. You may have to delete and recreate the embedded browse.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Dave Martens
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    75

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    Hi Stan,

    Thank you for your suggestion - under normal circumstances, that would work well. Unfortunately, in my case, I have rows that are so small that there is no concept of a row separator any more.

    Thus, my options seem to be:

    1. set the row height through the GUI form designer (but I don't see how to do this - I can only set column width there)
    2. set the row height programatically (but doing so seems to require the kludge I suggested earlier)
    3. delete the browse and start over

    Admittedly, #3 is easier than asking the question. However, my inadvertent action that set the row height so small raised the question of how to set this parameter more elegantly through #1 or #2. I can imagine a dialog that would have row heights set by the developer, which would not be adjustable by the user.

    Hmmmm....
    Dave

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Dave Martens
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    75

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    I must be doing something to create this problem, because a new browse I created started doing this also. Each time (after the first time) that I opened the form containing the new browse, the row height was set to some small value (like 3 pixels).

    Fortunately, in this situation, I was able to use Stan's suggestion to correct it temporarily.

    However, once I closed the form and reopened it, the row size reverted to the small value.

    Therefore, this has negative visual impact, of course.

    Any advice would be appreciated ...
    Dave

  5. #5
    Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,488

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    You do have "row selector" checked under browse properties, right? w/o that you can't size.

    Dumb Q: you do save the form after adj. the row height, right?

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Dave Martens
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    75

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    Thanks for your comments, Peter.

    I do have row selector checked. This allows adjustment of the row height by the user once the dialog comes up.

    What I really wanted to do is to configure the browse's row height by design, rather than relying on the user to resize the row every time the dialog opens up.

    I should add that I just figured out how to change the row height by dragging and dropping the row height from the GUI designer. Thus, this question has become somewhat academic.

    However, I would still like to set the height through a setting or programatically if possible.

    Dave

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,903

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    Dave and all,

    The Object Explorer is where I have always adjusted the row heights as I do not like the looks of the row selector and so do not ever have one on any browse. A simple matter to set the height with the Object Explorer and has always remained at whatever height I set it at too.

    Am I missing something--reread all posts but this does not seem to be a difficult matter????? Height can be set programatically also using the Object Explorer to obtain the necessary object names, etc.
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic Tim Kiebert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tim Kiebert
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Geelong, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    2,784

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    Dave,

    While the form is in design mode select View from the main Alpha menu and then near the bottom select Object Explorer. Find the entry for the browse on the left then the row height property on the right. Adjust the value in the down neat the bottom. See pics. I agree that this would be helpful to have somewhere in the browse properties dialog.


    EDIT: Too fast for me today Mike :)
    Tim Kiebert
    Geelong Citrus Packers
    A complex system that does not work is invariably found to have evolved from a simpler system that worked just fine.

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,903

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    Naw---I just didn't take the time to make such pretty pictures. :)
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    Quote Originally Posted by Stan Mathews View Post
    I have accidentally drug the row separator causing too small a height myself.
    Hello Stan,

    I'm shocked. I can't believe you used the word "drug" meaning medicine, instead of "dragged", past tense for drag. Golly Gee Wiz, my mentor of the English language; Say it ain't so. :D

    kenn

  11. #11
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    24,698

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    Quote Originally Posted by forskare View Post
    Hello Stan,

    I'm shocked. I can't believe you used the word "drug" meaning medicine, instead of "dragged", past tense for drag. Golly Gee Wiz, my mentor of the English language; Say it ain't so. :D

    kenn
    Well, it happened. I usually don't make my first syntactical faux pas until late November and I goofed early.

    I can't even make the excuse that I was dragged at the time.

  12. #12
    VAR
    Real Name
    Cheryl Lemire
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Pembroke Pines, FL
    Posts
    2,914

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    Stan,

    I can't even make the excuse that I was dragged at the time.
    I think George put something in the chocolates ;)
    Cheryl
    #1 Designs By Pagecrazy
    http://pagecrazy.com/

  13. #13
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    24,698

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    Quote Originally Posted by Cheryl Lemire View Post
    Stan,



    I think George put something in the chocolates ;)

    In Kentucky we put bourbon in them.

  14. #14
    Member
    Real Name
    Dave Martens
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    75

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    Hi Tim and Mike,

    Thank you so much for your help - that did the trick. Although I am fairly experienced with programming in general, I am still on the early side of learning the specific of A5 and its environment.

    I agree that the object browser was just what was needed.

    Best,
    Dave

  15. #15
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    Quote Originally Posted by Stan Mathews View Post
    Well, it happened. I usually don't make my first syntactical faux pas until late November and I goofed early.

    I can't even make the excuse that I was dragged at the time.
    I'm sure it must be global warming. Yes, it's global warming. You've been on the computer too much and it's warming up your inner being more than necessary.

    BTW, when do you take your annual faux pas exam?

    kenn
    Last edited by forskare; 10-25-2007 at 09:30 PM. Reason: BTW

  16. #16
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    24,698

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    Quote Originally Posted by forskare View Post
    I'm sure it must be global warming. Yes, it's global warming. You've been on the computer too much and it's warming up your inner being more than necessary.

    BTW, when do you take your annual faux pas exam?

    kenn
    I use

    Addin.run_internal_to_self("audit_trail")

    and import the resulting ascii file into a table for historical analysis.

  17. #17
    "Certified" Alphaholic forskare's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ken Nordin
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Walker, MN
    Posts
    7,545

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    :cool:

  18. #18
    Member
    Real Name
    Ron Brinegar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Phoenix, Az
    Posts
    21

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    Thanks for the help on setting row Heights, I had the same problem as "Dmartens" described. Your method was a perfect solution.. Way to go mate

    R.L. RON BRINEGAR
    Arizona cowboy poet

    (cowboypoet-az.com)

  19. #19
    Member
    Real Name
    Ann Warner
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    Hi,

    I have had a similar problem.

    I have redone the browse.
    I have gone into object properties and set the row height that I want.
    I have saved it all.

    But, everytime I go into the form, the row height resets itself. Why will it not save the row height?

    Ann Warner

  20. #20
    Member
    Real Name
    Brad Steinfeldt
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Murray, Utah
    Posts
    109

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    I've noticed the same problem with a form I'm working with. Anyone know why?
    Brad Steinfeldt

  21. #21
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,903

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    Hi,


    Why will it not save the row height?
    Anyone know why?
    No Clue!! But if a sample is given that illustrates this problem, I imagine a reason will be found as to why your database is acting contrary to what occurs on others.
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  22. #22
    Member
    Real Name
    Brad Steinfeldt
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Murray, Utah
    Posts
    109

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    I've attached the form without the database files. Is that going to work, or do I need to attach the data files too? I just didn't want to send the personal data along.
    It's basically happening to all the embedded browses, and it's not just the row height but the column size that reverts back. I've followed the instructions on this thread, and still, I close it then open it and it reverts back.
    Sometimes it saves the sizes and sometimes it doesn't happen until I open and close it a few times. I also don't know what else I'm doing to make it happen, but I certainly know I'm not adjusting it back, and I know I've saved it.
    Thanks for any ideas.
    Brad
    Brad Steinfeldt

  23. #23
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,903

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    Brad,
    Without the .adb, .alm, .alb, and .alx files a "helper" has to create a new database---but to add the tables .dbfs/.sets have to be present. Easy enough to zip up with data, open it up (which also verifies that most likely others can do so too), and delete any sensitive records. Just make certain it is the zipped database you do this to of course!!!!

    Gone for the day, but others should be able to help once this is done....if not I'll come back to it when I get back in the evening.
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  24. #24
    Member
    Real Name
    D.Chiasson
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    West Coast of Canada
    Posts
    605

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    I am having the same problem on a couple windows...I am UNABLE to find the Object Explorer you mention. I do see Object -> Properties but in Properties I don't see anywhere to modify row height. Any help is really appreciated.

  25. #25
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    24,698

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    With a form open in design mode the View Menu second to last choice should be Object Explorer.
    There can be only one.

  26. #26
    Member
    Real Name
    Barry C.
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    Adding to the above,

    Go into design mode, View, Object explorer, Choose the browse your trying to size, Row_height, Set as needed. Save.

    This kind of works. I set to 20, but goes to 17. Way better then 1 like it was. Not sure it will hold.
    Onto fix column wide next. Fun, this is not.

  27. #27
    Member
    Real Name
    Barry C.
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    The above did not work. Sorry, still searching for alternative fix.

  28. #28
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,903

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    I'll say the same as I did before as using the Object Explorer and/or xbasic to set the row height does work....which means something else is at work against your doing this...When you say "The above did not work..." I take that to mean you have tried recreating the browse, used the row selector, used the object explorer, and used xbasic??

    A sample database would help all to help you...and much faster overall most times.

    Other possibles are to close and reopen Alpha and compact the Database (workspace).

    You did not mention what version you are using which could be important.
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  29. #29
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,383

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    You can set the row height in the onInit event of the browse.

    topparent.Row_height = 30 or what ever number you want.

    or an embedded browse

    topparent:Brw_embedded.Row_height = 30
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  30. #30
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,211

    Default Re: browse element row height change ... how?

    This is a function I modified to set the row height, you could use it in a button or a script to call the browse.

    First open a browse and set it to the width and height you want and use the Object Explorer to get the dimensions to use, or use with my defaults
    Default Ex: vw_brw_row("yourbrowsename")
    Ex 2: vw_brw_row("yourbrowsename",1260,715)
    Ex 3: Ex: vw_brw_row("yourbrowsename",800,500,15,15,20)

    Code:
    FUNCTION vw_brw_row as L (layoutname as C,xwidth=850 as N,yheight=640 as N,xleft=0 as N,ytop=0 as N,rwh=18 as N)
    'DESCRIPTION: use to call a named browse with a set size and placement; opens on last record
    	DIM brw as P
    	dim xpos as c
    	dim ypos as c
    	brw = obj(":"+object_Name_normalize(word(layoutname,1,"@")))
    	IF .not. is_object(brw) THEN
    		brw = :browse.load(layoutname)		
    	END IF
    	evaluate_template(layoutname+".row_height = "+rwh)
    	if xwidth > 0 then
    	    brw.width = xwidth
    	end if
    	if yheight > 0 then
    	    brw.height = yheight
    	end if
    	if xleft > 0 then
    		xpos = alltrim(str(xleft))
    		brw.left = xleft
    	else
    		xpos = "LEFT"
    	end if
    	
    	if ytop > 0 then 'using pixels
    		ypos = alltrim(str(ytop))
    		brw.top = ytop
    	ELSE
    		ypos = "TOP"
    	end if	
    	
    	brw.window_position(xpos,ypos) ' uses pixels or text
    	brw.restrict_enter = .t.	
    	brw.activate()
    	brw.fetch_last()
    	vw_brw_row=.t.
    END FUNCTION
    Import into the Code tab on the control panel

    vw_brw_row 04-20-2017.txt
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

Similar Threads

  1. Browse Row Height
    By jacklcs22 in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-04-2007, 03:08 PM
  2. Browse doesn't adjust row height?
    By Marilyn Wallace in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-15-2005, 03:39 AM
  3. Browse row height
    By Alan Lander in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-21-2004, 06:47 AM
  4. Embedded Browse Row Height
    By Alan Lucas in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-09-2003, 12:36 PM
  5. Row height in a browse ...
    By drgarytraub in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-07-2002, 04:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •