Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Backing up of A5 tables

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Ragnar Midtskogen
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    19

    Default Backing up of A5 tables

    We have some servers running some A5 Web sites, using the WAS.
    We need to back up the data automatically once a day, actually overnight.
    What si the best way of doing this?
    Right now we are running NTBACKUP, but I am not sure if this will work, since NTBACKUP will not copy open files.
    Originally I had set up the routine to XCOPY the A5 files to another folder, then use NTBACKUP on that folder, but then we realized that since the files came from different folders any restore would have to be partially done manually by relying on a list of where the files came from.
    Any thought on this would be most welcome.

    Ragnar

  2. #2
    Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,787

    Default Re: Backing up of A5 tables

    The best backup system I've found is Cobain Backup version 8 at http://www.cobian.se. Flawless, you can back up to the server, a different computer or FTP off. Runs as a service.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Ragnar Midtskogen
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: Backing up of A5 tables

    Thank you Steve, I will take a look at it and see if it fits our needs.

    Ragnar

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Andrew Schone
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    1,044

    Default Re: Backing up of A5 tables

    The version of NTBackup that ships with Windows 2003 will perform backup's using Shadowcopy. Shadowcopy technology allows NTBackup to backup a file that is currently open and locked.

    If you are using a previous version of NTBackup, you are correct, it will not backup an open file.

Similar Threads

  1. Backing up
    By Harry Smuda in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-14-2005, 12:33 PM
  2. Backing up
    By Dennis Mathias in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-27-2002, 10:44 AM
  3. Backing up
    By Glenn Chandler in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-08-2002, 03:48 AM
  4. Backing up
    By 7ZNJABB in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-08-2001, 03:16 PM
  5. Backing Up
    By Michael Humby in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 08-07-2000, 11:14 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •