Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Find in column

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Matthew Pollock
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    10

    Default Find in column

    I am trying to find a simple way of finding the last name of a person, within a browse column.

    In Alpha4 this is what I did:

    F (when I write this, up pops a menu)
    (type first letter of the name I am looking for)
    (I am taken to the name)

    Simple! Two key strokes, very fast.

    Now this seems very difficult in Alpha5
    How to do it?
    I prefer not to use the mouse, if possible, so I start thus:

    CTRL + L
    Tab
    Space Bar

    Here the problems begin...there seems no way of just typing the first letter of the name without first clicking with the cursor next to 'Search For'. I also have to type the FULL name, because if I type the first letter, it gives me the first name it finds which has that letter in it

    (sigh)

    What was a 2 keystroke action, has become a 10 keystroke + cursor movement action.

    Can anyone suggest a simple two cursor stroke technique which doesn't involve using the mouse?

    Why do people introduce new software which makes things MORE not less complicated?

    If there IS a simple solution I shall eat my words, but at the moment this is pretty irritating. After all, searching a column for the first letter of a name is a pretty basic function, one would have thought.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    24,992

    Default Re: Find in column

    Create an index for the table upon which the browse is based, index on the name field. Make sure the index is is effect before you start the search.

    Ctrl-I opens the index value find dialog. Type the first letter. As you type more letters the search is narrowed.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Matthew Pollock
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Find in column

    Hmmmm... creating an index doesn't seem easy. In Alpha 4 it was another 2 keystroke job.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Matthew Pollock
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Find in column

    CTRL + I opens 'Primary Index or Query' I have there an index I created, 'Last'. I have 4 options, OK, Close, Apply...Roll Up. None seem relevant

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    24,992

    Default Re: Find in column

    Sorry, in a hurry this morning.

    Ctrl-K brings up the dialog to find by the index in effect. Ctrl-K offers the options to set the index in effect.

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Matthew Pollock
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Find in column

    Great, it works. You think Alpha 5 is bearably easy to learn? I have no ambition to program anything at all. I just want a database, mouse-free if possible, as much like Alpha 4 as can be made. Alpha 5 is it? Or not?

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,479

    Default Re: Find in column

    Quote Originally Posted by mmp97 View Post
    Hmmmm... creating an index doesn't seem easy. In Alpha 4 it was another 2 keystroke job.
    Not in the A4 I use/used.

    I think it's a wash between A4 and A5 to create an index. But it is different.

    From the control panel - tables/sets tab - right click the table and choose Define Indexes - fill out a new line to create another index.

    Pretty much the same definition options as in A4.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,479

    Default Re: Find in column

    Quote Originally Posted by mmp97 View Post
    Great, it works. You think Alpha 5 is bearably easy to learn? I have no ambition to program anything at all. I just want a database, mouse-free if possible, as much like Alpha 4 as can be made. Alpha 5 is it? Or not?
    It's as close to A4 in windows land as you can find anywhere.

    But A5 is not A4. Just like windows is not DOS.

    Once you cut the strings from A4/DOS, you'll be much happier in A5.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

Similar Threads

  1. New Quick Sort Column click & moving column
    By dchiass in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-28-2007, 08:07 PM
  2. grid (brows)-> column -> column title
    By alimrb in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-06-2005, 04:54 AM
  3. Find by form, run find
    By Dave Wilson in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 08-11-2004, 07:12 PM
  4. find any text in a find operation
    By Michael Schill in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-11-2003, 03:37 AM
  5. Find by key button, or menu find key
    By Karen Crawford in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-12-2003, 12:05 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •