Get a Jumpstart with our Sample Apps
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Poor Internet Connection

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Dale Hayes
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default Poor Internet Connection

    Is there a way to have an application where a user can enter data while offline, and then sync when he has a connection?

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,903

    Default Re: Poor Internet Connection

    Dale,
    A fairly vague question you've posed.

    If this is an web based application then how are you connecting to the application without an internet connection? Can't.

    If, OTOH, you have 2 separate applications and want to "synchronize the two, it is no longer a web question and has been discussed a few times on the messageboard....and no automatic synching program or method fits all scenarios and user intervention to control it is generally a must.

    Regardless, welcome to the messageboard. When more specific questions are asked, you will find the response here incredible....but had a feeling your question was destined to be buried! :)
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Oscar Osorio
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    64

    Default Re: Poor Internet Connection

    You would have to program the sync. Not being familiar with the application I can only provide vague examples. If the application resides on the web, you could populate a PC resident Spread sheet with data and later sync it with the web. You would have to create a syncing routine that properly maps the fields.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Oscar Osorio
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    64

    Default Re: Poor Internet Connection

    If you have Alpha in your PC, you could populate an Alpha DB and then do the sync.

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help - Test Network/internet Connection
    By JohnTurner in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-02-2008, 05:50 PM
  2. Internet connection speeds
    By Chris A in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-09-2007, 01:15 PM
  3. Can A5v6 Check to see if Internet connection available
    By Graham Wickens in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-01-2006, 04:30 PM
  4. Detect Internet Connection
    By Walter in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-29-2005, 08:40 PM
  5. v6 update connection Internet Explorer Problem
    By Joe Gratzle in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-14-2004, 09:11 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •