Alpha DevCon 2018
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Alpha Five with Active Directory

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Dan James
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default Alpha Five with Active Directory

    Is there a way to integrate your alpha five with AD username and passwords?

    If anyone has any way to have users log in with their username and passwords for AD, and then have that authenticate them to Alpha Five using either the same or a different set of credentials could they put me on the right path please.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,010

    Default Re: Alpha Five with Active Directory

    Perhaps [Use Windows Logon] in the Security Suite will do this?
    I've only used Desktop Security so far.
    Look here. http://wiki.alphasoftware.com/Defini...urity+Settings
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    https://exampleltd.example-software.com/
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Dan James
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Alpha Five with Active Directory

    Is this in V11? and will use the current username / password credentials? I was hoping i could build say a custom ASPX page published by my Threat management gateway, so people can use Single sign on using the same windows username / password authenticated by LDAP to connect to webmail, sharepoint and alpha five without having to ender the details more than once.

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,010

    Default Re: Alpha Five with Active Directory

    Did you read the wiki?
    Ted Giles
    Example Consulting - UK
    .

    https://exampleltd.example-software.com/
    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

  5. #5
    Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,787

    Default Re: Alpha Five with Active Directory

    Dan,

    The only part I have trouble with is the ASPX program. If you can give me a hash value (MD5) from your LDAP server, I can make A5 single sign on. I have it running on a client location, but they wrote the ASP code (and gave it to me).
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Dan James
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Alpha Five with Active Directory

    We dont have a dedicated LDAP server, its all in Active directory.

    We use version 10.5 of web server, no desktop.

  7. #7
    Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,787

    Default Re: Alpha Five with Active Directory

    Active Directory, that's what I meant, and for web apps.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Dan James
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Alpha Five with Active Directory

    sorry, seem to have lost me a little, do you mean a password hash? As far as i was aware they are unviewable in AD by design?

  9. #9
    Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,787

    Default Re: Alpha Five with Active Directory

    The ASP code provides a MD5 hash of the active directory username (an email address) of the person logged in to their terminal. It never reveals the AD password.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

Similar Threads

  1. Active Directory Integration?
    By StevenMcLean in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 04-15-2011, 02:10 PM
  2. Active Directory integration question?
    By dchiass in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-21-2010, 11:52 AM
  3. Security Integration w/ Active Directory
    By bspolarich in forum Application Server Version 10 - Web/Browser Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-05-2010, 05:41 AM
  4. Alpha Five & Active Directory
    By kimor in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-17-2008, 01:50 PM
  5. Read/Write to Active Directory
    By paulyp in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-03-2008, 11:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •